Some questions for developers....

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
DrBwts

Some questions for developers....

Postby DrBwts » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:57 pm

I'm primarily interested in graphics & mechanics (my day job is in Biomechanics mostly FEA) & I'm looking into improving my programming skills (intermediate at best). I'm naturally drawn to FreeCAD as a way to explore how computational graphics work & how it is implemented but am well aware that I am a noob. SOooo I have a few questions, if you have the time, about how FreeCAD is developed.

What kind of programming environments do you use, Visual Studio, Code::Blocks, something else?

What compilers are you using?

I'm assuming FreeCAD is written in C++?

How do I access the source code?

What libraries are need besides OpenCASCADE & COIN?

What else should I know? :D

Thanks for any time you can spare with this.
tanderson69

Re: Some questions for developers....

Postby tanderson69 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:17 pm

DrBwts wrote:
Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:57 pm
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Developer_hub
chrisb

Postby chrisb » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:37 pm

DrBwts

Postby DrBwts » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:49 pm

Thanks both that should keep me quiet for a while.
ezzieyguywuf

Postby ezzieyguywuf » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:30 pm

The resources linked are probably where you should start. But since a have a few minutes:
DrBwts wrote:
What kind of programming environments do you use, Visual Studio, Code::Blocks, something else?
I use a plain text editor (my preferred editor is vim, or neovim more lately), and then compile using cmake from the command line. Most would consider this a rather "bare bones" development environment, though, and it's not suited for everyone.
DrBwts wrote:
What compilers are you using?
I use the gcc compiler exclusively for no other reason than it is what comes with my operating system (gentoo linux).
DrBwts wrote: