Release of 0.18

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11510
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby yorik » Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:12 pm

One thing that would be cool, is to always add the file used to generate the splashes to the examples folder... Provided we have the author's permission of course
wandererfan
Posts: 2968
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby wandererfan » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:07 pm

Joel_graff wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:42 pm

Code: Select all

Copyright 2019, Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre and the FreeCAD Community
"The FreeCAD Community" may not have a legal existence, but "members of the FreeCAD Community" do.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2627
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby easyw-fc » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:20 pm

just to add some tips, attached the LO License reference
They added
'Copyright by LibreOffice contributors'
...
Anyway I would keep the three main contributors in front of the others like:
'This product was created by Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre'
:D
LO-lic.png
LO-lic.png (23.77 KiB) Viewed 1010 times
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby Zolko » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:36 pm

wmayer wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:50 am
git commit 55a4f78ad
This datum feature seems to be pretty useful.
Thanx
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
installable with Tools > Addon Manager, new version 0.6.3. Simple tutorial here
triplus
Posts: 8676
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby triplus » Wed Jan 09, 2019 4:46 pm

yorik wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:45 pm
triplus wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:38 pm
P.S. I noticed if you are in another workbench and use the Start workbench to create a new document. Or to open an existing file from the Recent files list. After such action Start workbench always gets activated.
Fixed in git commit 1a7d3d9a3
Can confirm and thanks.
NormandC wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:08 am
Funny, but that won't happen anytime soon as long as there is no clear "Making PRs for dummies" step-by-step summary. The topic about it is too damn long and confusing for someone who still struggles with Git like me.
OK:
  • On GitHub browse to the file you would like to Edit.
  • Press on the Edit button (creates a Fork and a branch automatically).
  • Edit.
  • Press on PR button.
  • Congratulations, you have just become a FreeCAD developer and a FreeCAD source code contributor.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5486
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:34 pm

triplus wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 4:46 pm
NormandC wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:08 am
Funny, but that won't happen anytime soon as long as there is no clear "Making PRs for dummies" step-by-step summary. The topic about it is too damn long and confusing for someone who still struggles with Git like me.
OK:
  • On GitHub browse to the file you would like to Edit.
  • Press on the Edit button (creates a Fork and a branch automatically).
  • Edit.
  • Press on PR button.
  • Congratulations, you have just become a FreeCAD developer and a FreeCAD source code contributor.
Yea, NormandC, let me know how I can help you with this stuff. I created Developing_FreeCAD_with_GitKraken because working with git makes most sense to me using a GUI.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
saso
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby saso » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:08 pm

This relates to FreeCAD_0.18.15609_Conda_Py3QT5-WinVS2015_x64 build

When I run the unit tests once all the tests pass, when I run it the second time I get this error

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\saso\Desktop\FreeCAD_0.18.15609_Conda_Py3QT5-WinVS2015_x64\bin\lib\unittest\case.py", line 59, in testPartExecutor
    yield
  File "C:\Users\saso\Desktop\FreeCAD_0.18.15609_Conda_Py3QT5-WinVS2015_x64\bin\lib\unittest\case.py", line 605, in run
    testMethod()
  File "C:\Users\saso\Desktop\FreeCAD_0.18.15609_Conda_Py3QT5-WinVS2015_x64\Mod\Test\Document.py", line 1577, in testDocument
    self.failUnless(self.Obs.parameter.pop(0) is self.Doc1)
  File "C:\Users\saso\Desktop\FreeCAD_0.18.15609_Conda_Py3QT5-WinVS2015_x64\bin\lib\unittest\case.py", line 1321, in deprecated_func
    return original_func(*args, **kwargs)
  File "C:\Users\saso\Desktop\FreeCAD_0.18.15609_Conda_Py3QT5-WinVS2015_x64\bin\lib\unittest\case.py", line 682, in assertTrue
    raise self.failureException(msg)
AssertionError: False is not true
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15609 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a14af0f2bd26f980d71be80a799ee48127bc7619
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Slovenian/Slovenia (sl_SI)
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby nemesis » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:52 am

Hi all,
For information, the part-design example in 0.18 in in the 0.16 way of designing, so opening it can lead to misunderstanding for beginners as there is no body and part.
attached the updated version (lighter by the way).
PartDesignExample.FCStd
(41.96 KiB) Downloaded 14 times

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux buster/sid
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15611 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 64a94ae0f7c60fc981086fe157150a9c0dca29c6
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby NormandC » Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:14 pm

I just noticed that Meshes --> Unwrap Mesh and Unwrap Face are not available in Crowdin for translation...

Yorik, no success in making the FEM menus appear I gather?

triplus wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 4:46 pm
On GitHub browse to the file you would like to Edit.
And what if you have more than one file to edit, which was my case?

Kunda1 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:34 pm
I created Developing_FreeCAD_with_GitKraken
I know, I recently marked it for translation. I also noticed that you uploaded blasted animated GIFs, and you know my opinion about this image format. :word censored:
Contrary to the cute icon, I was not smiling. :roll:

In any case, GitKraken requires signing in through either GitHub or a GitKraken account - which makes it a no-go for me.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5486
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Release of 0.18

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:00 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:14 pm
Kunda1 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:34 pm
I created Developing_FreeCAD_with_GitKraken
I know, I recently marked it for translation. I also noticed that you uploaded blasted animated GIFs, and you know my opinion about this image format. :word censored:
Contrary to the cute icon, I was not smiling. :roll:

In any case, GitKraken requires signing in through either GitHub or a GitKraken account - which makes it a no-go for me.
The moment I posted the above response and then linked on the page... I knew you'd give me :word censored: for it :oops: :roll: :lol:
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features