Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
emills2
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 11:23 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby emills2 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:48 pm

Syres wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 1:28 pm
Kunda1 wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:43 am
Silk Wb
If I don't get any testing feedback by Thursday with ref https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p283970 then I'll PR the Silk Wb repository and hopefully it will be another off that list.
merged. minimal testing for py2 shows the test model still works. I take your word in regards to py3.

the prints look weird in py2 with () on everything, but that's acceptable.

thank you for doing the work!
Silk_model_148_00.png
Silk_model_148_00.png (165.04 KiB) Viewed 629 times
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby easyw-fc » Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:31 pm

Arch WB OBJ export decode issue:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 4, in <module>
File "C:\FreeCAD\Mod\Arch\importOBJ.py", line 196, in export
FreeCAD.Console.PrintMessage(translate("Arch","Successfully written") + " " + decode(filename) + "\n")
File "C:\FreeCAD\Mod\Arch\importOBJ.py", line 225, in decode
decodedName = (name.decode("utf8"))
<class 'AttributeError'>: 'str' object has no attribute 'decode'
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15998 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5791c341be797ff2eee99eccac53df71db510fae
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
oddtopus
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby oddtopus » Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:54 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:37 pm
Dodo is the new Flamingo...
(an aside: one would think it be the other way around being that the dodo is extinct?
I get the levity thing and all but what about naming the workbench something that describes what it does in a descriptive way? (not to rain on your parade and creativity)...

But anyhow, Dodo WB will be py3 and Qt5 compliant.
Did I get that all right?
Right, almost. Sorry for the late reply.
Beside that there will be further improvements, but I will make another post for that. I need to rearrange few early stage choices that I made...

BTW, I checked and patched (but not committed yet) flamingo with the appimage of 0.19 version: apart few issues, it seems stable enough for now.

About the naming stuff, also "flamingo" was a consequence of "EAGLE tools" and I wanted to continue the birds series. Since dodo is already extinct, there is a chance that it doesn't happen twice...
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5759
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Kunda1 » Thu May 09, 2019 1:23 pm

@microelly2 informed us that none of his workbenches will by py3 ready for a while
The migration to python3 is more complex than only to replace some prints, it will take more time and I do not have time this spring and summer.
source: https://github.com/microelly2/freecad-n ... -489509376
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8414
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby bernd » Thu May 09, 2019 2:03 pm

Python 3 problems in BOLTS not that easy to solve ... https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=36186
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8414
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby bernd » Fri May 10, 2019 8:14 pm

bernd wrote:
Thu May 09, 2019 2:03 pm
Python 3 problems in BOLTS not that easy to solve ... https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=36186
solved, you can update your list :D see https://github.com/berndhahnebach/BOLTS ... -491413778
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5759
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Kunda1 » Sat May 11, 2019 2:27 pm

bernd wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 8:14 pm
solved, you can update your list :D see https://github.com/berndhahnebach/BOLTS ... -491413778
:100:
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5759
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Kunda1 » Wed May 22, 2019 11:20 am

Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
vocx
Posts: 1569
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby vocx » Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:15 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:15 am
Note: this post will be actively updated
Hey, Kunda, not saying that this is your job, but could you maybe update the list, if you know of changes?
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5759
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Python3 and Qt5 Compatible Addon Workbenches (in preparation for 0.18)

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:19 pm

vocx wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:15 am
Hey, Kunda, not saying that this is your job, but could you maybe update the list, if you know of changes?
No worries.
Updated.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features