AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
looo
Posts: 2741
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby looo » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:37 pm

appimage is uploaded. mac-version will follow soon. Size has increased because of included scipy, sympy, pandas. Also I do not delete any library for the mac bundle. This seems to made problem previously.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/tcpg7xrvjdun ... Oteia?dl=0

I will use this topic to track all problems. Here the first one (mac: fem-wb). I guess we need some more backports... This was working with the 0.18 version, but not with 0.18.1.*

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Fem/femguiobjects/_ViewProviderFemMaterial.py", line 71, in setEdit
    taskd = _TaskPanelFemMaterial(self.Object)
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Fem/femguiobjects/_ViewProviderFemMaterial.py", line 151, in __init__
    self.import_materials()
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Fem/femguiobjects/_ViewProviderFemMaterial.py", line 574, in import_materials
    self.import_solid_materials()
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Fem/femguiobjects/_ViewProviderFemMaterial.py", line 581, in import_solid_materials
    self.add_cards_from_a_dir(system_mat_dir, ":/icons/freecad.svg")
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Fem/femguiobjects/_ViewProviderFemMaterial.py", line 620, in add_cards_from_a_dir
    self.materials[a_path] = Material.importFCMat(a_path)
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Material/Material.py", line 65, in importFCMat
    Config.read(fileName)
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.6/configparser.py", line 697, in read
    self._read(fp, filename)
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.6/configparser.py", line 1015, in _read
    for lineno, line in enumerate(fp, start=1):
  File "/Users/lo/Desktop/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python3.6/encodings/ascii.py", line 26, in decode
    return codecs.ascii_decode(input, self.errors)[0]
<class 'UnicodeDecodeError'>: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0xc5 in position 503: ordinal not in range(128)
* edit: I don't know if I have tested this previously
looo
Posts: 2741
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby looo » Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:54 pm

another time osx: crash after tests in gui are done. this is specific to the dmg.

Code: Select all

Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0   libqcocoa.dylib               	0x0000000115141421 0x115118000 + 168993
1   libQt5Widgets.5.6.2.dylib     	0x000000010f882165 QMenu::actionEvent(QActionEvent*) + 1077
2   libQt5Widgets.5.6.2.dylib     	0x000000010f74df30 QWidget::event(QEvent*) + 224
3   libQt5Widgets.5.6.2.dylib     	0x000000010f87fdb3 QMenu::event(QEvent*) + 1139
4   libQt5Widgets.5.6.2.dylib     	0x000000010f70b3a4 QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) + 292
5   libQt5Widgets.5.6.2.dylib     	0x000000010f70ca08 QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) + 456
6   libFreeCADGui.dylib           	0x000000010d0cb95b Gui::GUIApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) + 75
7   libQt5Core.5.6.2.dylib        	0x0000000110336118 QCoreApplication::notifyInternal2(QObject*, QEvent*) + 168
8   libQt5Widgets.5.6.2.dylib     	0x000000010f741c1c QWidget::removeAction(QAction*) + 108
9   libFreeCADGui.dylib           	0x000000010d3df961 Gui::MenuManager::setup(Gui::MenuItem*, QMenu*) const + 1361
10  libFreeCADGui.dylib           	0x000000010d3ded49 Gui::MenuManager::setup(Gui::MenuItem*) const + 1177
11  libFreeCADGui.dylib           	0x000000010d3ed157 Gui::Workbench::activate() + 151
12  libFreeCADGui.dylib           	0x000000010d3f7c0e Gui::WorkbenchManager::activate(std::__1::basic_string<char, std::__1::char_traits<char>, std::__1::allocator<char> > const&, std::__1::basic_string<char, std::__1::char_traits<char>, std::__1::allocator<char> > const&) + 30
13  libFreeCADGui.dylib           	0x000000010d04a1a7 Gui::Application::activateWorkbench(char const*) + 2135
14  libFreeCADGui.dylib           	0x000000010d0703bd Gui::Application::sActivateWorkbenchHandler(_object*, _object*) + 93
15  libpython3.6m.dylib           	0x000000010e303776 _PyCFunction_FastCallDict + 166
16  libpython3.6m.dylib           	0x000000010e38cd3e call_function + 478
17  libpython3.6m.dylib           	0x000000010e385cc3 _PyEval_EvalFrameDefault + 4883
18  libpython3.6m.dylib           	0x000000010e38df68 fast_function + 568
19  libpython3.6m.dylib           	0x000000010e38cd19 call_function + 441
20  libpython3.6m.dylib           	0x000000010e385cc3 _PyEval_EvalFrameDefault + 4883
21  libpython3.6m.dylib           	0x000000010e38d816 _PyEval_EvalCodeWithName + 2566
22  libpython3.6m.dylib           	0x000000010e38e2bd _PyFunction_FastCallDict + 669

*edit: solved by including the full bin-directory. (size is getting bigger, but functionality is more important)
looo
Posts: 2741
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby looo » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:19 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
can you test the appimage (FreeCAD_0.18.1RC1-Linux-_Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64) I included curl and hope this solves the problem on arch-linux. (in case you can test on arch linux)

chrisb wrote:
please test the dmg FreeCAD_0.18.1RC2-OSX-x86_64-conda-Qt5-Py3
joha2 wrote:
please test the appimage if pyrate works with the provided libraries (scipy sympy)


I am offline for a week.


https://www.dropbox.com/sh/tcpg7xrvjdun ... Oteia?dl=0
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:27 pm

looo wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:19 pm
Kunda1 wrote:
can you test the appimage (FreeCAD_0.18.1RC1-Linux-_Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64) I included curl and hope this solves the problem on arch-linux. (in case you can test on arch linux)

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/tcpg7xrvjdun ... Oteia?dl=0
@looo AppImage works. Am I testing for something specifically ?

OS: Manjaro Linux
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16110 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.1)
Hash: f7dccfaa909e5b9da26bf50c4a22ccca9bb10c40
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

Edit:
Triggering Addon Manager crashes FC

Code: Select all

	Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAD9yGgj/usr/Mod/AddonManager/AddonManager.py", line 800, in run
    bare_repo = git.Repo.clone_from(repo[1], clonedir + os.sep + '.git', bare=True)
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAD9yGgj/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/git/repo/base.py", line 988, in clone_from
    return cls._clone(git, url, to_path, GitCmdObjectDB, progress, **kwargs)
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAD9yGgj/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/git/repo/base.py", line 939, in _clone
    finalize_process(proc, stderr=stderr)
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAD9yGgj/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/git/util.py", line 333, in finalize_process
    proc.wait(**kwargs)
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAD9yGgj/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/git/cmd.py", line 415, in wait
    raise GitCommandError(self.args, status, errstr)
git.exc.GitCommandError: Cmd('git') failed due to: exit code(128)
  cmdline: git clone --bare -v https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus /home/beast/.FreeCAD//Mod/A2plus/.git
  stderr: 'Cloning into bare repository '/home/beast/.FreeCAD//Mod/A2plus/.git'...
/usr/lib/git-core/git-remote-https: /tmp/.mount_FreeCAD9yGgj/usr/lib/libcurl.so.4: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/git-core/git-remote-https)
fatal: unable to access 'https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus/': error setting certificate verify locations:
  CAfile: /home/lo/projects/FreeCAD-AppImage/conda/linux/AppDir/usr/ssl/cacert.pem
  CApath: none
'
Last edited by Kunda1 on Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
looo
Posts: 2741
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby looo » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:46 pm

thanks. Seems like the appimage has no git included...
looo
Posts: 2741
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby looo » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:04 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:27 pm
Edit:
Triggering Addon Manager crashes FC
new appimage uploaded (FreeCAD_0.18.1RC2-Linux_Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64) which includes git. (size is growing -> 460mb)
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5240
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby sgrogan » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:12 pm

looo wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:58 pm
I don't want to include the docs in the conda freecad-package. Building locally is more work than setting up a branch and let the ci's create the packages. So it would be best if the docs would be available from the release page and we can add them to the appimage/dmg
Fine with me. Maintaining a package on the release page is no problem. For win it's trivial to inject the docs, for OSX I don't know but I think it should be possible @chrisb, maybe you can test this?, for the AppImage it would be good if we can do this without uncompromising the bundle. Ideally we could install the package in .FreeCAD/doc, but that's a feature request for later.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:52 pm

looo wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:04 pm
new appimage uploaded (FreeCAD_0.18.1RC2-Linux_Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64) which includes git. (size is growing -> 460mb)
Still breaks, but different error:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAqZhV1T/usr/Mod/AddonManager/AddonManager.py", line 800, in run
    bare_repo = git.Repo.clone_from(repo[1], clonedir + os.sep + '.git', bare=True)
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAqZhV1T/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/git/repo/base.py", line 988, in clone_from
    return cls._clone(git, url, to_path, GitCmdObjectDB, progress, **kwargs)
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAqZhV1T/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/git/repo/base.py", line 939, in _clone
    finalize_process(proc, stderr=stderr)
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAqZhV1T/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/git/util.py", line 333, in finalize_process
    proc.wait(**kwargs)
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAqZhV1T/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/git/cmd.py", line 415, in wait
    raise GitCommandError(self.args, status, errstr)
git.exc.GitCommandError: Cmd('git') failed due to: exit code(128)
  cmdline: git clone --bare -v https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus /home/beast/.FreeCAD//Mod/A2plus/.git
  stderr: 'Cloning into bare repository '/home/beast/.FreeCAD//Mod/A2plus/.git'...
warning: templates not found in /home/lo/projects/FreeCAD-AppImage/conda/linux/AppDir/usr/share/git-core/templates
fatal: unable to find remote helper for 'https'
'
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
looo
Posts: 2741
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

[canceled]Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby looo » Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:12 pm

thanks for testing (again).

I guess we are seeing the limitations of the appimage approach (at least with conda-packages as base).
The osx-bundle is also crashing quite often. So I guess we need to find other ways to bundle the conda-packages. I will continue with providing conda-packages, but stop the bundeling efforts. This is simple too much frustration and was also never my target.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: AppImages of v0.18 release builds

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:11 pm

bummer
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features