Back port commits to 0.18 branch

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
triplus
Posts: 8786
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Back port commits to 0.18 branch

Postby triplus » Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:23 am

As for the version number. Travis will set the package (version) name, based on whatever FreeCAD says the version is. I feel that this approach makes the most sense. Hence @looo would need to patch FreeCAD package on Conda side, and use some arbitrary version number, like for example 0.18.4. Currently packagers are resulting to all sort of hacks, trying to achieve that, i find that messy. This probably needs to get addressed upstream. By for example explicitly committing such value, at some point, to the 0.18 branch, and in such case, for it to be used automatically, when compiling the FreeCAD.
looo wrote:
Fri Nov 01, 2019 9:20 am
Anyway osx is seeing brew-issues again. So this might need some time to be solved. (Last time we saw such errors it somehow got sorted by itself.)
Yes, such things usually sort themselves out, on Homebrew/Travis side. This time, due to the issue already persisting for around 10 days and due to point release just being made, i added a workaround, and macOS people can now join the party.
looo
Posts: 2950
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Back port commits to 0.18 branch

Postby looo » Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:09 am

triplus wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:23 am
As for the version number. Travis will set the package (version) name, based on whatever FreeCAD says the version is. I feel that this approach makes the most sense. Hence @looo would need to patch FreeCAD package on Conda side, and use some arbitrary version number, like for example 0.18.4. Currently packagers are resulting to all sort of hacks, trying to achieve that, i find that messy. This probably needs to get addressed upstream. By for example explicitly committing such value, at some point, to the 0.18 branch, and in such case, for it to be used automatically, when compiling the FreeCAD.
I see, so we are talking about the version set in the version.h file. I thought this was about the file-name of the appimage/dmg.
In this case, indeed this must be done before building the package. There are for sure ways to do this in the build-scripts by using the version of the conda-package which is available as an environment-variable.
As we use git there are also other alternatives, like using the latest tag and add the additional commits. But as git tags are not strictly increasing for FreeCAD (0.19_pre, 0.18.x, ..) this will not work out of the box. At least I got something like (freecad_link-merge_xxx-commits as package name, when I tried this approach.)
triplus wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:23 am
Yes, such things usually sort themselves out, on Homebrew/Travis side. This time, due to the issue already persisting for around 10 days and due to point release just being made, i added a workaround, and macOS people can now join the party.
Nice! Thanks.
please help with my conda-packaging efforts: https://liberapay.com/looooo/
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5468
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Back port commits to 0.18 branch

Postby sgrogan » Sun Nov 03, 2019 3:01 pm

looo wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:09 am
Nice! Thanks.
+1
Moved packaging discussion here: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=40614
triplus
Posts: 8786
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Back port commits to 0.18 branch

Postby triplus » Mon Nov 04, 2019 12:28 am

looo wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:09 am
I see, so we are talking about the version set in the version.h file. I thought this was about the file-name of the appimage/dmg.
Yes, this is the main problem. We started doing point releases, some people would like for that to be reflected in FreeCAD version name, currently hacks are being used, to achieve such results, when creating the packages. In addition some scripts out there do check for the version name, not yet taking point release version name scheme into consideration. For example replacing revision number 16146 with a number such as 4, that i guess can make a script, expecting a higher number, to assume, older FreeCAD version is being run.
Nice! Thanks.
You're welcome.

P.S. Just wondering, how hard would it be to create a Conda Linux FreeCAD 0.18.4 test package, containing this code changes:

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... istant.cpp
looo
Posts: 2950
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Back port commits to 0.18 branch

Postby looo » Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:41 am

triplus wrote:
Mon Nov 04, 2019 12:28 am
P.S. Just wondering, how hard would it be to create a Conda Linux FreeCAD 0.18.4 test package, containing this code changes:

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... istant.cpp
added:
https://github.com/looooo/freecad-feeds ... 2718be5231

If it doesn't work we can move back to the origin 0.18.4 build.
please help with my conda-packaging efforts: https://liberapay.com/looooo/
engdham
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 2:08 am
Location: Rondonópolis - MT - Brazil
Contact:

Re: Back port commits to 0.18 branch

Postby engdham » Wed Nov 13, 2019 1:37 pm

Hello,

Not sure if this is the right place to talk about it, but the download link for the Windows version on the site is still pointing to version 0.18.3, although 0.18.4 is already available.
triplus
Posts: 8786
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Back port commits to 0.18 branch

Postby triplus » Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:42 am

looo wrote:
Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:41 am
added:
https://github.com/looooo/freecad-feeds ... 2718be5231

If it doesn't work we can move back to the origin 0.18.4 build.
Great to see such patches can be applied in a rather straightforward fashion. I tested the FreeCAD 0.18.4 AppImage and unfortunately it still doesn't work. An additional quirk is involved somewhere, Qt Assistant doesn't want to unregistered the documentation and it doesn't provide a reason, on why it fails. Will do some more tests in the following days.