Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
galou_breizh
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby galou_breizh » Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:51 pm

zacl wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:51 pm
For the origin of macro, is it to know where it will be download or where the installed one come from?
The idea is to show whether the macro comes from the git repository (i.e. it is an "official", peer-reviewed macro) or from the wiki (less control, more freedom).

Thanks,
Gaël
User avatar
zacl
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby zacl » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:45 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:15 pm
@zacl thanks so much for leaning in and contributing. I think we need to work on backend functionality before we change GUI stuff. I mean, if you want to tackle GUI simultaneously, that's cool. But make sure to pace yourself and the expectations of the community.
Yeah, I am working on both task. I'm currently studying github api to manage workbench more easily with your headless script and by the same time displaying beautifull description in Qt web. In fact it is more cumbersome for me to accord the current Addon Manager GUI with the headless script than to devellop them parallelly.

And I like beautiful UI :lol:
adrianinsaval
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby adrianinsaval » Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:55 pm

HI guys! Regarding this, would it be possible to add an option to force reinstallation of a workbench whe the update fails? This seems to happen when there are modified files in the local clone.

Altought normally regular users won't be messing around with the addon files, in assembly 4's case it seems the user modified the example files that come with it and then was unable to update the workbench. Of course, there was no obvious hint on how to solve this, at least for those who don't know much of git.
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 730
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby Zolko » Wed Jan 22, 2020 3:57 pm

adrianinsaval wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:55 pm
in assembly 4's case it seems the user modified the example files that come with it and then was unable to update the workbench.
may-be we should remove those example files ?
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
vocx
Posts: 3355
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby vocx » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:17 pm

zacl wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:02 am
By the way, have you any will/idea/request for this module?
From this thread, Process to accept workbenches and modules into the Addon Manager
vocx wrote:
Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:14 pm
... And an improvement for the future would be to categorize the workbenches and modules in the Addon Manager, similar to External workbenches, subject to discussion of course.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby uwestoehr » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:53 pm

Starting the addon manager and go to the addon A2plus, I get this error:

Code: Select all

AddonManager: Debug: Error retrieving image from https://camo.githubusercontent.com/75980f21b0ea41df713ab0aff117605b93e679ba/68747470733a2f2f69392e7974696d672e636f6d2f76692f514d78635135747373576b2f6d71332e6a70673f7371703d434947576f5f41462672733d414f6e34434c445874556956425756496d4c72736464654e70784c4561334d337477