Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
galou_breizh
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby galou_breizh » Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:51 pm

zacl wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:51 pm
For the origin of macro, is it to know where it will be download or where the installed one come from?
The idea is to show whether the macro comes from the git repository (i.e. it is an "official", peer-reviewed macro) or from the wiki (less control, more freedom).

Thanks,
Gaël
User avatar
zacl
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby zacl » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:45 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 5:15 pm
@zacl thanks so much for leaning in and contributing. I think we need to work on backend functionality before we change GUI stuff. I mean, if you want to tackle GUI simultaneously, that's cool. But make sure to pace yourself and the expectations of the community.
Yeah, I am working on both task. I'm currently studying github api to manage workbench more easily with your headless script and by the same time displaying beautifull description in Qt web. In fact it is more cumbersome for me to accord the current Addon Manager GUI with the headless script than to devellop them parallelly.

And I like beautiful UI :lol:
adrianinsaval
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby adrianinsaval » Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:55 pm

HI guys! Regarding this, would it be possible to add an option to force reinstallation of a workbench whe the update fails? This seems to happen when there are modified files in the local clone.

Altought normally regular users won't be messing around with the addon files, in assembly 4's case it seems the user modified the example files that come with it and then was unable to update the workbench. Of course, there was no obvious hint on how to solve this, at least for those who don't know much of git.
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1112
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby Zolko » Wed Jan 22, 2020 3:57 pm

adrianinsaval wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:55 pm
in assembly 4's case it seems the user modified the example files that come with it and then was unable to update the workbench.
may-be we should remove those example files ?
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
vocx
Posts: 5206
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby vocx » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:17 pm

zacl wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:02 am
By the way, have you any will/idea/request for this module?
From this thread, Process to accept workbenches and modules into the Addon Manager
vocx wrote:
Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:14 pm
... And an improvement for the future would be to categorize the workbenches and modules in the Addon Manager, similar to External workbenches, subject to discussion of course.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1978
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby uwestoehr » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:53 pm

Starting the addon manager and go to the addon A2plus, I get this error:

Code: Select all

AddonManager: Debug: Error retrieving image from https://camo.githubusercontent.com/75980f21b0ea41df713ab0aff117605b93e679ba/68747470733a2f2f69392e7974696d672e636f6d2f76692f514d78635135747373576b2f6d71332e6a70673f7371703d434947576f5f41462672733d414f6e34434c445874556956425756496d4c72736464654e70784c4561334d337477
Syres
Posts: 819
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby Syres » Fri May 01, 2020 5:25 pm

I'm getting close to submitting a PR for the AddOnManager which includes a Python 2 Only list. At present I've got animation, geodata, GDT and timber Wbs in the list.

If there are any others that should be added then please advise, otherwise they can be PR'd at a later date.

Also included in my changes are checks around the Git binary version, I've found some really strange results when trying to update with 2.12.1 but wasn't aware that I had another version (2.15) later in my path which was being ignored, so I've tried to at least make the user aware is their version doesn't meet the minimum. Seeing as I believe current stable version is 2.26 and the version that was installed on my Linux Mint 19.3 partition was 2.17 then I don't think it's unreasonable to advise the user to update.

Attached is a copy of src\Mod\AddonManager\addonmanager_workers.py and addonmanager_utilities.py files if anyone wants to try and break it.

Edit: attached updated Python files
Attachments
addonmanager_utilities.py
(11.14 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
addonmanager_workers.py
(41.54 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Syres
Posts: 819
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby Syres » Sat May 02, 2020 10:44 am

User avatar
zacl
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby zacl » Mon May 04, 2020 10:14 am

Syres wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 10:44 am
PR submitted https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/3420
I have will try to look at your change. Sorry, I was away of FreeCAD community during containement.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 1978
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am

[regression] Re: Add ons manager - development and bugs topic

Postby uwestoehr » Mon May 04, 2020 1:51 pm

Syres wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 10:44 am
PR submitted https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/3420
Since this I cannot use the AddonManager anymore. When starting it, I get now this error:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "D:\FreeCAD-build\Mod\AddonManager\addonmanager_workers.py", line 159, in run
    git_version = StrictVersion(result.group(1))
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'group'
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20940 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 99ec5924d1e12b3b01ad753a37b5b119999c489d
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)