Arch Texture Addon: Development

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
User avatar
furti
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Arch Texture Addon: Development

Postby furti » Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:21 am

If you have new feature requests for the Arch Texture Addon or want to discuss some development stuff, please do not post to the Announcements Topic anymore but instead reply to this topic. :)

Informations about new features are still posted to the announcement topic: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... a666fc1c40
User avatar
OficineRobotica
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:17 am

Re: Arch Texture Addon: Development

Postby OficineRobotica » Wed Jan 22, 2020 8:40 am

furti wrote:
Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:21 am
If you have new feature requests for the Arch Texture Addon or want to discuss some development stuff, please do not post to the Announcements Topic anymore but instead reply to this topic. :)

Informations about new features are still posted to the announcement topic: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... a666fc1c40
Hello Furti and thank you for the incredible work on this addon. It opens a world of posibilities for the viewport rendering and I'm extra excited about further development.


I am currently working on a video tutorial about the workbench and i encountered the following difficulties:

1 -First of all a usability issue. This could speed up the workflow by allot and make things allot more intuitive for the user. The addon should have as defoult in his toolbar the "add material" and "add multi material" buttons from the arch workbench, as they are directly related to the process of setting up a scene.
archTextureToolBar.jpeg
archTextureToolBar.jpeg (28.6 KiB) Viewed 1175 times
Also, when a body is selected and the "add material" is clicked the "Material" variable should be added automatically to that body/geometry with it's fields empty. Then it's up to the user to select the desired material for that geometry.




2 -I think this is a bug. Using the latest version from the addon manager and folowing this step by step
>add a cube from the part workbench
>select the cube and add a material
archTextureAddMaterial.jpeg
archTextureAddMaterial.jpeg (3.11 KiB) Viewed 1175 times
then add the material variable to the cube
>create the texture config and add only the texture image then "unhide" the texture config
The cube will be displayed with no texture
archTexture3.jpeg
archTexture3.jpeg (134.06 KiB) Viewed 1175 times
>add a bump map to the "textureConfig"
The cube will be displayed correctly.
archTexture4.jpeg
archTexture4.jpeg (244.93 KiB) Viewed 1175 times

>remove the texture file from the "textureConfig" and leave only the bump map. If done by deleting the link in the config panel and hiting ok will hard crash freecad. If adding from the start only the bump map:
The cube will display texture but in a strange way. It almost seem that some normals are inverted. I noticed this in allot of test scenes. The textures look better when viewed from "behind" or "under" the geometry.
>EDIT...at the time of writing this adding only the bump map in the fields will always crash Freecad.





3-This might also be a bug and a bit of a show stopper when setting up scenes with more than cubes from the part workbench.
>model some geometry then create a simple copy from the part workbench
>on the copy apply a material and a texture config
>the rotate texture doesn't work anymore
Analogously any complex geometry modeled with part design or copies of geometry although they will display texture , will not rotate them anymore on a per face manner.
archTexture5.jpeg
archTexture5.jpeg (301.63 KiB) Viewed 1175 times
This is what I seen so far. Again, thank you for the awesome addon.
P.S. should I hold up on the tutorial untill you manage to tackle some of the problems or should i present posible workarounds as things are at the moment?

Cheers
HoWil
Posts: 1199
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Arch Texture Addon: Development

Postby HoWil » Wed Jan 22, 2020 8:04 pm

Furti, Thanks for this nice and helpfull addon. I missed the ability to set light sources for years. Should be included into "main" FC. BR
steve123
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:58 pm

Re: Arch Texture Addon: Development

Postby steve123 » Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:14 pm

Could this be combined with the Materials Editor and made into its own workbench instead of built into Arch and FEM?
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 2619
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Arch Texture Addon: Development

Postby GlouGlou » Tue Mar 17, 2020 3:59 pm

hi Officine Robotica,
how you do to get transparent texture as we see at 14' ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njp61PWWotE
User avatar
OficineRobotica
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:17 am

Re: Arch Texture Addon: Development

Postby OficineRobotica » Wed May 20, 2020 5:45 pm

GlouGlou wrote:
Tue Mar 17, 2020 3:59 pm
hi Officine Robotica,
how you do to get transparent texture as we see at 14' ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njp61PWWotE
Sorry for not responding for so long but I wasn't even aware that this thread is still alive. If you follow the tutorial and apply a png texture with true alpha channel to your object you will get transparency. Bare in mind that I had big difficulties managing textures for objects more complex than a cube with this addon. But it is a really nice showcase of possibilities.

If you are interested you should also follow this thread:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 3&start=80

Best regards.
User avatar
Szzer
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:26 pm

Re: Arch Texture Addon: Development

Postby Szzer » Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:18 am

First of all awsome development!, it makes the models much more realistic!

I would like to request a feature;
Add individual textures to specific faces , such as having a brick outside wall and a plastered inside wall.
And allowing the path to the texture to be local, for example placing the texture in the same folder as the part itself. This to allow the texture to be opened on another laptop, just by copying the entire folder to that pc.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8700
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Arch Texture Addon: Development

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:10 pm

Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features