travis.yml

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
triplus
Posts: 9277
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:42 am

triplus wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 8:44 pm
Can you delete the cache for PR.2930 on Travis?
Nop don't do that, as i took another approach today and do need the existing cache for reference purposes.
triplus
Posts: 9277
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:44 pm

After a few days of testing and learning about ccache (second run):

Code: Select all

cache hit rate                     49.33 %
Time looks appealing too:

Code: Select all

Ran for 10 min 38 sec
Compared to the usual 2h + for the GCC builds.

https://travis-ci.org/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/builds/643253903

P.S. In the end it was the ccache log, that started to provide clues. As it was too big to display, showing a few thousand lines was still possible. It indicated there is an issue with i guess correct compiler (path) detection. I am not sure if FreeCAD could be improved in this regard, Travis environment is the culprit or there is a bug in ccache package, or i guess a bit of everything. Anyway, as long as we can make it work, i don't need to know more details. I will go over everything again and likely tomorrow will have updated PR ready to be merged!
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby sgrogan » Thu Jan 30, 2020 9:57 pm

triplus wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:44 pm
Time looks appealing too:

Code: Select all

Ran for 10 min 38 sec

Compared to the usual 2h + for the GCC builds.
This is very good news!
triplus
Posts: 9277
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Thu Jan 30, 2020 10:05 pm

I am just cleaning up some things, before testing all build jobs together again in PR. I am commenting out the sections that are currently not used and i have found Gitter notifications to be actively used but i don't know if chunk.io key is still relevant? Anybody has a clue?
triplus
Posts: 9277
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Fri Jan 31, 2020 12:49 am

Another thing i noticed is we are currently building the whole matrix for each commit included in the PR? Why does that make sense? Better to build only the latest commit?

https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/customi ... est-commit

And i guess the same applies for the branch builds?

In short we should enable both auto cancellation options?
triplus
Posts: 9277
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Fri Jan 31, 2020 4:32 pm

OK, it looks like all three Linux build jobs in PR are using ccache now. Matrix being:
  • Clang 9 Py3/Qt5
  • GCC 9 Py3/Qt5
  • GCC 7 Py2/Qt4
Quick question about clcache and Windows. Did that ever work on Travis or in someones local Windows build environment?
triplus
Posts: 9277
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:28 pm

triplus wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 4:32 pm
Quick question about clcache and Windows. Did that ever work on Travis or in someones local Windows build environment?
Never mind as now i see this actually is working, just the speed gains are a bit less, compared to using ccache on Linux. Still 50% improvements though. Anyway, this is how a GCC build now looks like on the third run:

Code: Select all

cache hit rate                     98.22 %
PR is ready to be merged and GCC ccache support should be back!
vocx
Posts: 3253
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby vocx » Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:01 am

triplus wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:28 pm
... is ready to be merged and GCC ccache support should be back!
Are you guys doing something with the Travis cache? Currently the tests pass without problem in Linux but always fail on Windows, and I wonder if it's about this cache thing.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 9246
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: travis.yml

Postby bernd » Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:23 am

vocx wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:01 am
triplus wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:28 pm
... is ready to be merged and GCC ccache support should be back!
Are you guys doing something with the Travis cache? Currently the tests pass without problem in Linux but always fail on Windows, and I wonder if it's about this cache thing.
links to the errors: https://travis-ci.org/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/j ... hub_status and https://api.travis-ci.org/v3/job/647091789/log.txt
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby sgrogan » Fri Feb 07, 2020 12:46 pm

bernd wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:23 am
links to the errors: https://travis-ci.org/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/j ... hub_status and https://api.travis-ci.org/v3/job/647091789/log.txt
triplus' PR is not in master. Although I think it should be merged to speed up the Linux builds.
The Win builds are failing because apeltauer has deleted the Libpack from his repo and Travis is timing out trying to download the non-existent Libpack. It should be possible to change the link to here https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre. I'll look when I get a chance (10-12 hrs)

EDIT: Looks like it was just moved https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD/re ... bPack_12.1