travis.yml

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:30 am

vocx wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:01 am
Are you guys doing something with the Travis cache?
Not yet, that will start to happen after the PR gets merged.

@sgrogan

I see you already created a PR, hopefully that was it.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6166
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby sgrogan » Sat Feb 08, 2020 4:14 pm

triplus wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 3:30 am
I see you already created a PR, hopefully that was it.
Didn't fix it :(
"fight the good fight"
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:05 pm

I took a quick look in the log and noticed a "new banner" providing the Windows version information. Based on that info i found out there was a mayor security flaw discovered and fixed in Windows 10. As the time frame, new Windows release and build issues on Travis starting to emerge overlap, i took a look at the CVE and it mentions Windows CryptoAPI was patched and it now works in a more strict mode. I didn't investigate further, but somehow i feel that curl is likely affected by this change and will need to get patched in the future. Especially if it uses Windows CryptoAPI. Hence lets try this theory out PR.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Sat Feb 08, 2020 8:40 pm

Nop, that is likely not it. I did in addition test if the LibPack can be downloaded successfully and it can be. The problem is therefore downloading clcache. A few days back this repo was not in archive mode:

https://github.com/frerich/clcache

Maybe that plays a role. @sgrogan could you upload the clcache package to the same location as the LibPack is and we can try after, to download the clcache package from that location.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6166
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby sgrogan » Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:08 pm

triplus wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 8:40 pm
Maybe that plays a role. @sgrogan could you upload the clcache package to the same location as the LibPack is and we can try after, to download the clcache package from that location.
I can, but should I? I'm hesitant to put this on the FreeCAD 0.19_pre page.
"fight the good fight"
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:18 pm

For testing purposes it doesn't have to be uploaded to 0.19_pre, where do you usually upload testing LibPacks? That should do to.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6166
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby sgrogan » Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:26 pm

triplus wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:18 pm
For testing purposes it doesn't have to be uploaded to 0.19_pre, where do you usually upload testing LibPacks? That should do to.

Code: Select all

https://github.com/sgrogan/FreeCAD/releases/download/clcache/clcache-4.2.0.zip
"fight the good fight"
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:40 pm

Nop, that was not it. Will try a few other things and report back.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:35 pm

Will take another look tomorrow, as Travis schedule is a bit busy ATM.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: travis.yml

Postby triplus » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:51 am

I sorted out all the issues introduced due to Travis updating Windows version and adding some changes to the environment, and us updating LibPack. Windows build job now successfully completes the CMake step. In addition and for now i recommend to disable Windows builds, as there is an upstream Travis issue involved, whenever using cmd.exe /C the build will hang and timeout. I did some basic tests with powershell and it looks like the same issue occurs.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/3025

P.S. Once this PR gets merged i plan to update the one enabling the useage of ccache for GCC builds and in addition i will create a testing oriented PR, we can use after to detect, when Travis upstream issue gets fixed.