Extension Manager (ExtMan)

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
mnesarco
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:52 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by mnesarco »

Chris_G wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 6:08 pm Hi,
One bug I have : if I close ExtMan window tab, switch to another WB, then activate back ExtMan WB, I only get an empty window tab.
Thank you for the report. I will check.
User avatar
mnesarco
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:52 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by mnesarco »

Chris_G wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 6:08 pm One bug I have : if I close ExtMan window tab, switch to another WB, then activate back ExtMan WB, I only get an empty window tab.
I tried to reproduce the issue in my environment without success, I need to do more tests.

Code: Select all

OS: Linux Mint 19.3 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21125 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 40600a55c2fe71ff589be677f6e427ccc937d003
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
User avatar
watsug
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:51 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by watsug »

I get this errors in terminal and FreeCAD report view after installing extman from github.

Code: Select all

watsug@kebab:~/Documents/freeCAD/freecad-build/bin$ ./FreeCAD
FreeCAD 0.19, Libs: 0.19R23961 (Git)
© Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre and others 2001-2020
FreeCAD is free and open-source software licensed under the terms of LGPL2+ license.
FreeCAD wouldn't be possible without FreeCAD community.
  #####                 ####  ###   ####  
  #                    #      # #   #   # 
  #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
  ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
  #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
  #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
  #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##

Tried to run Gui::Application::initApplication() twice!
<string>:410: DeprecationWarning: an integer is required (got type PySide2.QtCore.Qt.WindowFlags).  Implicit conversion to integers using __int__ is deprecated, and may be removed in a future version of Python.
<string>:410: DeprecationWarning: an integer is required (got type PySide2.QtCore.Qt.WindowType).  Implicit conversion to integers using __int__ is deprecated, and may be removed in a future version of Python.
During initialization the error "No module named 'git'" occurred in freecad.extman
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 156, in InitApplications
  File "/usr/lib/python3.8/importlib/__init__.py", line 127, in import_module
    return _bootstrap._gcd_import(name[level:], package, level)
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 1014, in _gcd_import
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 991, in _find_and_load
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 975, in _find_and_load_unlocked
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 671, in _load_unlocked
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap_external>", line 783, in exec_module
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 219, in _call_with_frames_removed
  File "/home/watsug/.FreeCAD/Mod/ExtMan/freecad/extman/init_gui.py", line 26, in <module>
    from freecad.extman.gui.browser import install_router, start_browser
  File "/home/watsug/.FreeCAD/Mod/ExtMan/freecad/extman/gui/browser.py", line 25, in <module>
    from freecad.extman.gui.controller import actions, message_handlers
  File "/home/watsug/.FreeCAD/Mod/ExtMan/freecad/extman/gui/controller.py", line 22, in <module>
    from freecad.extman.sources.source_installed import InstalledPackageSource
  File "/home/watsug/.FreeCAD/Mod/ExtMan/freecad/extman/sources/source_installed.py", line 25, in <module>
    from git.objects import base
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'git'
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
connect failed: No such file or directory

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (ubuntu:GNOME/ubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.23961 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 3e2780a5117fb7a5d9c1ce9ed663ce34e6decd9e
Python version: 3.8.5
Qt version: 5.12.8
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Some UX feedback:
The first thing I tried to do was to do was search for a workbench I wanted to download, but it wasn't found. You have to click Cloud > Addons and then search for the addon. If possible, it would be better if there's only one search that could show both installed and available cloud addons.

When looking at the Workbench list, you have to click the small blue readme text. Could clicking the Workbench/Macro name also bring up the same readme?
User avatar
mnesarco
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:52 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by mnesarco »

watsug wrote: Sat Feb 06, 2021 1:59 pm
Thank you for the report, git should be optional so this is a bug for sure. I will fix it and will review the ux too.

Cheers!
User avatar
mnesarco
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:52 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by mnesarco »

watsug wrote: Sat Feb 06, 2021 1:59 pm ...
Fixed in master: https://github.com/mnesarco/FreeCAD_ExtMan
User avatar
watsug
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:51 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by watsug »

mnesarco wrote: Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:37 pm Fixed in master: https://github.com/mnesarco/FreeCAD_ExtMan
I still get this error line with removed and recloned from git.

Code: Select all

Tried to run Gui::Application::initApplication() twice!
Saw you added clicking on name to get readme, nice :)
User avatar
mnesarco
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:52 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by mnesarco »

watsug wrote: Thu Feb 11, 2021 4:18 pm I still get this error line with removed and recloned from git.

Code: Select all

Tried to run Gui::Application::initApplication() twice!
This is not ExtMan specific as I get this also without ExtMan installed. I don't know which is the source of that warning.
User avatar
watsug
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:51 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by watsug »

mnesarco wrote: Thu Feb 11, 2021 4:32 pm
watsug wrote: Thu Feb 11, 2021 4:18 pm I still get this error line with removed and recloned from git.

Code: Select all

Tried to run Gui::Application::initApplication() twice!
This is not ExtMan specific as I get this also without ExtMan installed. I don't know which is the source of that warning.
For me it disappears if I remove the ExtMan folder from .FreeCAD/Mod
User avatar
mnesarco
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:52 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by mnesarco »

watsug wrote: Thu Feb 11, 2021 5:06 pm For me it disappears if I remove the ExtMan folder from .FreeCAD/Mod
Ok, I have to hunt it because I have a lot of thing in my .FreeCAD/Mod. I saw that long time ago and tried to find the cause but give up. Anyway it is just a warning, not a stopper.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Extension Manager

Post by Kunda1 »

I get a crash when invoking ExtMan from
OS: Manjaro Linux (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.23882 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: bead9bb9381d039d6dda438b07e30dace7cf33ae
Python version: 3.9.1
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

PS I know it's an now old compiled version of FC. I'm waiting for a good time to compile from source again (it's strenuous on my poor laptop)
This crash may not be an issue on the latest bleeding edge v0.19_pre

Code: Select all

[0220/082008.002295:ERROR:resource_bundle.cc(932)] Failed to load /home/foo/.FreeCAD/qtwebengine_resources_100p.pak
Some features may not be available.
[0220/082008.002324:ERROR:resource_bundle.cc(932)] Failed to load /home/foo/.FreeCAD/qtwebengine_resources_200p.pak
Some features may not be available.
[0220/082008.002336:ERROR:resource_bundle.cc(932)] Failed to load /home/foo/.FreeCAD/qtwebengine_resources.pak
Some features may not be available.
[0220/082008.003321:WARNING:resource_bundle_qt.cpp(115)] locale_file_path.empty() for locale 
[64763:64763:0220/082008.096260:ERROR:extension_system_qt.cpp(121)] Failed to parse extension manifest.
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
#0  /lib/libc.so.6(+0x3cf80) [0x7fe666de0f80]
#1  /lib/libQt5WebEngineCore.so.5(+0x2996760) [0x7fe62d0b5760]
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
#0  /lib/libc.so.6(+0x3cf80) [0x7fe666de0f80]
#1  /lib/libQt5WebEngineCore.so.5(+0x2c68b82) [0x7fe62d387b82]
corrupted double-linked list
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
Edit: I'm running the most up to date version of ExtMan
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Post Reply