Getting Started - Sketcher improvement as a first task?

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
LeFix

Getting Started - Sketcher improvement as a first task?

Post by LeFix »

Hey all,
first of all I'm a total newbie regarding freecad and its community. However I'm a somewhat experienced cad user (creo, solidworks) and hobby programmer (mainly c++) and I'm currently working as mechanical engineer.

I'd like to improve my programming skills while remaining close to my profession, so freecad seems perfect.

So far I built it from source (didn't look into the code yet) and created some simple parametric objects.

While using the sketcher it felt inconvenient to have three different actions (with three distinct buttons) to define a distance between two points/the length of a line segment. (horizontal, vertical, "diagonal")
At least in solidworks it's combined into one button, and after selecting the desired sketch entity its type (horizontal, vertical, "diagonal") isn't set directly but a preview is shown which changes depending on the mouse position. When moving the mouse around the entity 360deg it'll preview each type twice. When clicking the mouse the current/previewed type is selected and instantiated.

I quickly searched in the list of pull requests on gitlab, on tracker.freecadweb.org and in this forum and didn't find an already existing issue/forum thread

Since the sketcher is a basic function, I thought it would be a good starting point to familiarize myself with the FreeCad source and create a (from my point of view) more convenient workflow.

Any feedback is appreciated (specific to my idea or anything else which might be interesting for me as a first task/starting point)

Cheers Felix
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Getting Started - Sketcher improvement as a first task?

Post by chrisb »