New Developer Introduction

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dreamy_jy

New Developer Introduction

Post by dreamy_jy »

Hi everyone 👋🏿,

My name is Jordane, I’m a computer engineering student in New York. I’m interested in contributing to FreeCAD and hoping to participate in the Google Summer of Code program in 2022. I’m testing the waters by making my first bug fix, hopefully, in the next couple of weeks.

Who are the core maintainers I should reach out to?
What is the best way to learn how FreeCAD works?
Dreamy Jy's back at it again.
chrisb
Veteran

Re: New Developer Introduction

Post by chrisb »

Hi and welcome to the forum! Developers are always welcome. I am not a developer myself, but I recommend to learn modeling with FreeCAD too and to follow the forum here, so that you learn how the community works, what is needed, etc.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
openBrain
Veteran

Post by openBrain »

dreamy_jy wrote: Mon Sep 27, 2021 3:05 am Who are the core maintainers I should reach out to?
That's FOSS and you basically don't need reach maintainers before contributing. :)
If you need to do though (for example because you want to propose very specific helping), you can post on the forum. Most maintainers regularly answer here.
What is more important IMO is to implement the features/fixes in the way the community want it (that is not always the way you want yourself :P).
What is the best way to learn how FreeCAD works?
My (always same) advice on this is to use a decent IDE that will help you navigate quickly in the code, and integrate a debugger so you can easily see the callstack when reaching a function.
Zolko
Veteran

Post by Zolko »

dreamy_jy wrote: Mon Sep 27, 2021 3:05 am What is the best way to learn how FreeCAD works?