Feature freeze is over - FreeCAD 0.20 was released

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20243
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by wmayer »

Since that is not in fact the case, it probably doesn't belong there anymore.
I don't mind if we leave the file in the Doc directory and add a relative path in resource.qrc to it. Proposed changes can be:

In src/Gui/Icons/resource.qrc add this:

Code: Select all

    <qresource prefix="/doc">
        <file alias="CONTRIBUTORS">../../Doc/CONTRIBUTORS</file>
    </qresource>
In src/Gui/Splashscreen change this:

Code: Select all

    QString creditsFileURL = QString::fromLatin1(":/doc/CONTRIBUTORS");
Adjust src/Doc/CMakeLists.txt and remove the handling of CONTRIBUTORS. A comment about how it's handled now would be helpful.
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3878
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by chennes »

OK: git commit 4f9eb9ebc. Is there a script we use to update that file, or is it done by hand (using git shortlog)?
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4961
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

[feature freeze status report #5] - FreeCAD 0.20

Post by uwestoehr »

Hi developers, it's time for another status report:

------------------
General:

we made good progress. There are now only 1 known crash left:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/milestone/2

------------------
Build System:

- Conda seems to work, so we can provide builds for MacOS and Linux.

- For Windows, we still don't have a proper LibPack.
I took now the LibPack we used for 0.19: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-LibP ... es/tag/1.0
and updated Qt, Python and Gmsh.
The result is LibPack version 1.1:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-LibP ... es/tag/1.1

I took LibPack version 1.1 and published with this a test build for Windows:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68705

If possible I would like to make the release builds using OCC 7.6.2 and NetGen 6.2 but may capabilities seem not sufficient for this. I hope that apeltauer, scottmudge and Werner could help me.

---------------
Issue tracker:

Our new tracker seems to work fine.
As I wrote in my last report, we decided in a joint meeting to this rule for new issues:
- known developers can directly open an issue without prior forum discussion
- all others have to start a forum thread before opening an issue. First when it is confirmed there, an issue will be accepted/considered

--------------
Translations:

Many thanks to all translators and your recent work!

I don't see major open bugs. If you see something please create a new ticked and set the milestone 0.20 to check if we have a quick fix.

--------------
Miscellaneous:

Many, many thanks to all contributors! keep up the good work and don't forget to have a loo at the Wiki if it describes the sate of FC 0.20.

As always, don't hesitate with feedback.

thanks and regards
Uwe
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4961
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by uwestoehr »

apeltauer wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 4:52 pm You have to compile netgen against the new occ version, i think this is the problem.
The problem is that Pybind11 is used by netgen. It is included in tge repo as 3rd party.
USing Qt you can just replace the current dlls and stuff...
--------------
Qt

Updating Qt cost me a full day and since I failed to compile it completely. I used my partly compiled Qt 5.15.3 and some libraries of this build:
https://github.com/martinrotter/qt-mini ... tag/5.15.3
I could not use this Qt build directly because I FreeCAD Base did not compile with it.

The result of my efforts is this LibPack:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-LibP ... es/tag/1.1

Can you please tell my your Qt configuration you used to compile Qt?

-----------------
OCC

My plan is to try to be able to compile OCC 7.6.2 including the blobfish patches. If I succeeded, I would publish a LibPack with this and NetGet 6.2 and asking Werner to help out to get the NetGen plugin compiled using this LibPack.
@Werner, is that a sensible approach?
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4961
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by uwestoehr »

uwestoehr wrote: Sun May 15, 2022 1:00 pm Updating Qt cost me a full day and since I failed to compile it completely. I used my partly compiled Qt 5.15.3 and some libraries of this build:
https://github.com/martinrotter/qt-mini ... tag/5.15.3
I could not use this Qt build directly because I FreeCAD Base did not compile with it.
This was no good idea since it turned out to fail sometimes. Meanwhile I am able to compile Qt completely and I will provide a better LibPack tomorrow.
Nevertheless it would be good to know your configuration of Qt.
User avatar
kaktus
Veteran
Posts: 1174
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by kaktus »

There are still a lot of errors related to untranslated labels in the GUI. :roll:

There is a list of open issues in the GitHub repository:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-tran ... +is%3Aopen
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13640
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by yorik »

kaktus wrote: Mon May 16, 2022 3:12 am There are still a lot of errors related to untranslated labels in the GUI. :roll:
Yes, but most are there since a long time and will take time to solve entirely, because they need some deeper changes. So I don't think we should delay the release a lot because of them. Let's try to solve as much as we can, but when the libpack is ready, I think we should release...
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20243
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by wmayer »

uwestoehr wrote: Sun May 15, 2022 1:00 pm I could not use this Qt build directly because I FreeCAD Base did not compile with it.
Why not? Which error do you get?
@Werner, is that a sensible approach?
Which smesh version do you use therefore? The one that is part of FreeCAD's repo or the fork from trelau?
User avatar
kaktus
Veteran
Posts: 1174
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by kaktus »

yorik wrote: Mon May 16, 2022 7:29 am
kaktus wrote: Mon May 16, 2022 3:12 am There are still a lot of errors related to untranslated labels in the GUI. :roll:
Yes, but most are there since a long time and will take time to solve entirely, because they need some deeper changes. So I don't think we should delay the release a lot because of them. Let's try to solve as much as we can, but when the libpack is ready, I think we should release...
Thank you for clarifying this matter.
;)
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4961
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [announcement] FreeCAD 0.20 will be released soon - time for a feature freeze

Post by uwestoehr »

wmayer wrote: Mon May 16, 2022 7:57 am
uwestoehr wrote: Sun May 15, 2022 1:00 pm I could not use this Qt build directly because I FreeCAD Base did not compile with it.
Why not? Which error do you get?
"Unresolved externals" ;)

Meanwhile I could compile Qt 5.15.3. To do this one has to install Python 2.7, yes Python 3 does not work for Qt5webengine.
I thought now I have it but running FC with it shows me that there is an issue in Qt5Network and therefore the Addon-Manager did not work.
After 3 days of attempting I gave now up and see no other change than to stay with Qt 5.15.2. I could only update Gmsh and Python 3.8.x. This LibPack is the result:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-LibP ... es/tag/1.1

And there is a test built I created with it:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-Bund ... /0.20beta1
wmayer wrote: Mon May 16, 2022 7:57 am Which smesh version do you use therefore? The one that is part of FreeCAD's repo or the fork from trelau?
I have no clue yet about SMESH. I don't understand what it is because the releases of trelau are almost empty, like a skeleton to be filled with other programs.
I will now provide a LibPack that is like version 1.1 but with the updated OCC. Can you please take over for the SMESH part or explain me? I will also write you a private message.
Post Reply