[SOLVED] File menu on menubar not activating when moused over -- PieMenu-Bug

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
whatever1
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 3:00 pm

[SOLVED] File menu on menubar not activating when moused over -- PieMenu-Bug

Post by whatever1 »

Hi there,
in the current weekly builds for windows (FreeCAD_weekly-builds-31109-2022-11-27-conda-Windows-x86_64-py[308,310] and the one before) I'm unable to directly enter the file menu by left clicking with the mouse.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Start Freecad.exe from the extracted 7z-folder
2. Try to click the file menu with the left mouse.
3. Nothing happens.
4. When you first click the View menu, it is possible to then click the file menu.

This might be am issue with a QtWidget, that has the main window as the parent:
https://forum.qt.io/topic/8833/solved-f ... sed-over/4
Franzk 22. Aug. 2011, 21:58

I've seen this once. It turned out a widget was created with the main window as a parent, but incorrectly placed. It could be you are having the same sort of problem. I'd expect that if you open a menu and use the arrow keys to walk through them you can open the menu.

Something as simple as the following could produce this behavior:
@MainWindow::MainWindow() :
QMainWindow()
{
//...
QWidget *w = new Widget(this);
(void)w;
}@
1


I hope this was the correct forum. I couldn't find the exact forum to post a bug and the help forum didn't seem appropriate.
Thank you
Last edited by whatever1 on Tue Nov 29, 2022 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53919
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [regression] File menu on menubar not activating when moused over

Post by chrisb »

whatever1 wrote: Tue Nov 29, 2022 9:20 am I hope this was the correct forum. I couldn't find the exact forum to post a bug and the help forum didn't seem appropriate.
Issues are now reported directly on Github.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
GeneFC
Veteran
Posts: 5373
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: [regression] File menu on menubar not activating when moused over

Post by GeneFC »

I just tried to find this behavior, and I could not see any problem at all.

I use no stylesheets and have few addons. Perhaps something in one of those is responsible.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 7 Version 6.1 (Build 7601: SP 1)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.31109 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: c23ee7ad88433a0f00e84afae0a62fe738be0c09
Python 3.10.8, Qt 5.15.4, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Installed mods: 
  * FeedsAndSpeeds 0.5.0
  * FeedsAndSpeeds-master.zip
  * freecad.gears 1.0.0
  * Help 1.0.3
I unpacked the 7z file, double clicked freecad.exe in the /bin folder, and immediately tried to open the File menu with a left click. Worked every time.

Gene
whatever1
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 3:00 pm

Re: [regression] File menu on menubar not activating when moused over

Post by whatever1 »

Thank you for the quick feedback.
I'm sorry I didn't put in the extra effort, to uninstall my addons first.

After quite some trial and error, I recognized, that the installation of the PieMenu 1.2.3 addon triggers the faulty behavior.
The problem was already reported and solved, but my search for relevant bug titles didn't turn up anything previously. Sorry.

PieMenu Cause Problem – Running the latest Weekly-Builds FC20.0
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... nu#p643218

{SOLVED} Possible Bug 31035-2022-11-17-conda-Windows-x86_64-py310
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=73667
jag45
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 17, 2022 9:44 pm

Re: [SOLVED] File menu on menubar not activating when moused over -- PieMenu-Bug

Post by jag45 »

This problem is still appearing on Weekly Build 31641.
Both the File and the Edit menu cannot be accessed until you click on the Tools menu and move the mouse across to the File or Edit menus with the left button pressed.

I've found that the problem is caused by Assembly 3 being installed in the Add On Manager. If you uninstall Assembly 3, then restart Freecad the problem does not appear. Reinstalling Assembly 3, the problem comes back.

However this problem does not appear in Freecad 0.20.2 with or without Assembly 3 being installed.

Hope this helps you to find the issue.
Thanks
Jon
FREECAD 0.21.0.31641

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.0.31641 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: d28d63b87b60161419c6c0c532fbbfaed96926b8
Python 3.10.8, Qt 5.15.6, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
Installed mods: 
  * A2plus 0.4.60i
  * Assembly4 0.12.5
  * ExplodedAssembly
  * Help 1.0.3
  * QuickMeasure 2022.10.28
  * RemBench
  * sheetmetal 0.2.60
  * Woodworking 0.21.30486
FREECAD 0.20.2.29177 +426

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.2.29177 +426 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached from 0.20.2)
Hash: 930dd9a76203a3260b1e6256c70c1c3cad8c5cb8
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
Installed mods: 
  * A2plus 0.4.60i
  * Assembly3 0.11.4
  * Assembly4 0.12.5
  * ExplodedAssembly
  * Help 1.0.3
  * QuickMeasure 2022.10.28
  * RemBench
  * sheetmetal 0.2.60
  * Woodworking 0.21.30486
Post Reply