Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8414
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby bernd » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:26 am

NormandC wrote:... Install the freecad-extras-XXX ...
Is there a list somewhere of all available freecad-extras ?
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4404
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby microelly2 » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:55 am

bernd wrote:Is there a list somewhere of all available freecad-extras ?
I have started my list here with my favorites
https://github.com/microelly2/freecad-p ... onfig.yaml

this is the state of my install tool:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=10556&start=10#p86525
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14882
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby wmayer » Thu Apr 30, 2015 11:27 am

bernd wrote:
NormandC wrote:... Install the freecad-extras-XXX ...
Is there a list somewhere of all available freecad-extras ?
It seems that current only assembly2 is packaged: https://launchpad.net/~freecad-communit ... ubuntu/ppa but the drawing-dimension module is already in work https://code.launchpad.net/~freecad-community
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby NormandC » Thu Apr 30, 2015 12:06 pm

I thought from my post it was clear Assembly2 was the first packaged module, hence the only one ATM...

The topic I linked contains the list of modules I intend to make packages of in the first post. But this is off topic here...

EDIT: I intend to create a wiki page about the FreeCAD Extras, I just haven't had the time yet.
Last edited by NormandC on Thu Apr 30, 2015 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: More info about intended modules and wiki page
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8414
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby bernd » Fri May 01, 2015 10:59 am

thanks for the informations.

Mhh sorry for highjacking and @norm sorry for not reading carefully your post.
confrey
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:56 pm

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby confrey » Tue May 05, 2015 8:18 am

Hi people, here what I need help for : while trying to assembly a bit complex model, I do separate files of single assembly modules, to get them assembled together into a single 'assembly' file using join project feature; but, for example, if I assembly three parts into a first assembly file, then other three parts into a second assembly file, then, after joining the two files, I can't create constraints anymore, getting always a solver error; but if I proceed into the first assembly files, adding a fourth and so on parts all goes fine; I can work so, but it's not a good way to work, it'd be more simply to create single small assembly files and then connecting them together with few constraints instead of having a big assembly growing up file; besides, it'd be very fine having hightlighting of selected face in assembly, for example, after creating a constraints, if I select a constraint face in properties box I can see that face highlighted in 3d view, is it possible?
and what about trying to solve manually the solver error?

thanks everybody

(I'll post this on G+ too)
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5416
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby sgrogan » Tue May 05, 2015 11:22 am

confrey
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:56 pm

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby confrey » Tue May 05, 2015 12:55 pm

many thanks, but I didn't understand very well how todo, a YT video will be perfect....
grantox
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 6:04 pm

Assembly2 and problems with constrains?

Postby grantox » Wed May 13, 2015 6:29 pm

Hello Community,

short while ago i downloaded FreeCAD 0.15 stable first on Linux,
yesterday also on Win-XP on my Job-Machine.
But i have some strange things, i may need some help.

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4671 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-15
Hash: 244b3aef360841646cbfe80a1b225c8b39c8380c
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

This is my main machine w. FreeCAD.
Now, i uploaded a video clip, about my troubles and hope someone can give advise,
where i may doing things wrong with Assembly2.

The Video is here: https://vid.me/cPrp
Just 7mins and a bit.

When i try to assemble my first set of parts, all works fine,
then trying to put together the second set, i can not use constrains,
unless i delete all previous once from my first set.

At the end of the thread i will also upload the parts.

I just dont know where i am going the wrong way that i can not get it all constrained.

Thank you for advise,
Regards
Grantox
Attachments
Adaptr.fcstd
(6.64 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Flange_plate.fcstd
(5.38 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Base_plate-002.fcstd
(6.86 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Base_plate-01.fcstd
(8.65 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Assembly2 and problems with constrains?

Postby NormandC » Wed May 13, 2015 7:04 pm

Hello grantox,

The Assembly2 workbench is a community plug-in that has nothing to do with the "Assembly" native workbench that is being worked on. Which is why I moved your post from the "Assembly" developer forum to the appropriate topic.