Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
triplus
Posts: 8757
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby triplus » Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:45 pm

paul18 wrote:First of all thanks for the answer.
You're welcome.
It works fine but this information should be easily accessible (that's why I've been thinking in using planes at the first time).
There is always room for improvement BUT property view in FreeCAD is something that can be expected users will look at and use often.
Actually I understood that you've created separately the parts and the plane (i.e. the plane is not linked to a part), so the contexte is different than the mine!
Yes i created them separately as seen on the first image and after i used Plane Constraint between them.
terrym
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:06 am

Assembly 2 workbench with FreeCAD v0.16: CRASH

Postby terrym » Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:37 am

Hi

Using FreeCAD v0.16 as it had an easy built in installer for such modules as Assembly2.

Machine is 64 bit AMD FX, 8 cores, running Ubuntu 14.04.3, with Gnome.

Open FreeCAD, create a cylinder, save it, close FreeCAD.
Open FreeCAD, create a cone, save it, close FreeCAD.
Open FreeCAD, create a new document, switch to the Assembly2 workbench.
... Click the blue cube with the red +, imported cylinder document.
... Click the blue cube with the red +, import the cone... CRASH! Vanishes from screen immediately!

Is that how the Assembly2 workbench is to be used?

When running from a terminal window, the only error message is:

terry@terry-desktop:~$ freecad
FreeCAD 0.16, Libs: 0.16R6428 (Git)
© Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2015
##### #### ### ####
# # # # # #
# ## #### #### # # # # #
#### # # # # # # # ##### # #
# # #### #### # # # # #
# # # # # # # # # ## ## ##
# # #### #### ### # # #### ## ## ##

importing part from /home/terry/CAD/test.fcstd
importing part from /home/terry/CAD/test2.fcstd
*** Abort *** an exception was raised, but no catch was found.
... The exception is:SIGSEGV 'segmentation violation' detected. Address 0
terry@terry-desktop:~$

Any ideas?

Thanks

Terry
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11567
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby yorik » Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:20 pm

Hi,
Assembly2 is an external project, not part of the official package. Although there is no problem in discussing this here, you'll get better chances if you report this directly on the Assembl2 github page...
eivindkvedalen
Posts: 598
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Assembly 2 workbench with FreeCAD v0.16: CRASH

Postby eivindkvedalen » Wed Feb 17, 2016 6:29 pm

terrym wrote:Hi

Using FreeCAD v0.16 as it had an easy built in installer for such modules as Assembly2.

Machine is 64 bit AMD FX, 8 cores, running Ubuntu 14.04.3, with Gnome.
....

*** Abort *** an exception was raised, but no catch was found.
... The exception is:SIGSEGV 'segmentation violation' detected. Address 0
terry@terry-desktop:~$

Any ideas?

Thanks

Terry
This could be related to issue #2389, #2418, or #2436; these might all end in unexpected crashes. I'm requesting a pull request for a fix shortly.

Eivind
Science-projectsW
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby Science-projectsW » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:31 pm

Hi,

I find the Assembly 2 module very useful, but I have a problem with using it.
It needs a "mate planes" function as well as an "align planes" function. This is causing a problem for me on an hourly basis.

For example, say I creat an L shaped bracket.

If I then want to place them on opposite sides of a square object, [ ], I can place the first one fine. Like so: L[ ]
However, if I then import the object again, I cannot mirror it, because it tries to align the face rather than mate, and I end up with something looking (roughly) like this : L[L]

At the moment, I'm having to draw every part twice to make my assembly, which defeats the purpose of an assembly module. Even if I rotate it using the move tool, it puts it back how it started the second I try and align planes.

If anyone can offer a suggestion on how to fix this, that would be great.

Also, a way to offest alignments would be very helpful as well. For eaxmple, I cannot create a part that looks like this: |_|_| using one long base (which I will weld together in real life).

Any help will be appreciated.
-W
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4414
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby microelly2 » Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:28 pm

Hello Science-projectsW and welcome to the forum,

there are lots of tools inside FreeCAD that you can use to avoid double work.

The Draft module has clones which allow to duplicat, scale and "mirror" objects.
Draft has the Array to repeat objects linear and polar.

The use of assembly2 can becomes clearer if you inspect the youtube channel of cad1919. There are some good demonstrations

Assembly2 support offsets but there are other tools too, look at the lattice2 workbench. Part Compound is an other good friend.

Look at these first and then ask your specific questions again. We will support you. :)
Science-projectsW
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby Science-projectsW » Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:02 am

*Checks out a video*
*What's that button with the bolt on it, why don't I have that?*
*Finds that the "flip plane", "lock rotation", "bolt" toolbar has been hidden*
What took me an extra 2 hours of doubling up parts yesterday has just taken me 2 minutes. ARGHHHH!
CharlieMAC
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:59 am

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby CharlieMAC » Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:26 pm

microelly2 wrote: The Draft module has clones which allow to duplicat, scale and "mirror" objects.
Please note that scaled clones DO not accept sketches on planar faces anymore, since the resulting faces are based on flat splines after the scaling. Also, snapping center won't work for the same reason. This won't be solved until the sketcher supports flat spline faces.

Check this thread out:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14317&p=114800#p114800

Charlie
pk_rulz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby pk_rulz » Sat Apr 02, 2016 1:18 pm

Hi

I am very new to FreeCAD and have a decent knowledge of Python. I dont have a background in CAD neither have I used any one before.
I would like to contribute to the Assembly2 module to bring it to more usable/production level faster. Any specific python code that you think needs help.

I am working between two jobs and might take a bit longer to contribute.

Look forward to your inputs

Cheers
PK
ickby
Posts: 2922
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Assembly 2 workbench for FreeCAD v0.15

Postby ickby » Sat Apr 02, 2016 3:54 pm

Hello,

as the Assembly module is a community driven workbench you may have better chances of reaching the respective developers via their github side. I think there are also quite a few issues which can be a basis for start coding.