Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
rockn
Veteran
Posts: 1791
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by rockn »

Hi,
In a doc I made a Part box
In a spreadsheet cell I enter
=Box.Shape.Volume
Ok I got the volume.
When I change the shape of the box by setting another value of the Length or Width or Height, I don't see anyway to refresh the value in the cell.

In a new Spreadsheet :
Merge two cells
Write some text inside
Set it to Bold
RE clic on Bold button to unset this
FreeCAD crash

Code: Select all

*** Abort *** an exception was raised, but no catch was found.
	... The exception is:SIGSEGV 'segmentation violation' detected. Address 38
Same behavior with Italic and Underline

Edit :oops:
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4572 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: be2bb52796ae1be001882da114e8272c4c746af0
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1.oce-0.16
Formations - Assistance - Développement : https://freecad-france.com
ulrich1a
Veteran
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by ulrich1a »

rockn wrote:When I change the shape of the box by setting another value of the Length or Width or Height, I don't see anyway to refresh the value in the cell.
The value in the cell changed in my case after changing the box-length in the Data-tab. So I dont see a need for a refresh button.
rockn wrote:In a new Spreadsheet :
Merge two cells
Write some text inside
Set it to Bold
RE clic on Bold button to unset this
FreeCAD crash

Code: Select all

*** Abort *** an exception was raised, but no catch was found.
	... The exception is:SIGSEGV 'segmentation violation' detected. Address 38
Same behavior with Italic and Underline
I can confirm this:

Code: Select all

*** Abort *** an exception was raised, but no catch was found.
	... The exception is:SIGSEGV 'segmentation violation' detected. Address 38
Ulrich

OS: Debian GNU/Linux 8.0 (jessie)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4570 (Git)
Branch: remotes/origin/master
Hash: d89d1808b71a6a1eea2e4ef50516b2feedef7135
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17-dev
User avatar
rockn
Veteran
Posts: 1791
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by rockn »

ulrich1a wrote:The value in the cell changed in my case after changing the box-length in the Data-tab. So I dont see a need for a refresh button.
No change for me :( I am not talking about addind a button or what. Just there is no value update at home.
Screenshot :
PB01.png
PB01.png (220.33 KiB) Viewed 2165 times
PB02.png
PB02.png (221.79 KiB) Viewed 2165 times
I can make a video if you want.
Formations - Assistance - Développement : https://freecad-france.com
eivindkvedalen
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by eivindkvedalen »

rockn wrote:Hi,
In a doc I made a Part box
In a spreadsheet cell I enter
=Box.Shape.Volume
Ok I got the volume.
When I change the shape of the box by setting another value of the Length or Width or Height, I don't see anyway to refresh the value in the cell.
Could you please attach the file? It works for me, btw.
rockn wrote:

Code: Select all

*** Abort *** an exception was raised, but no catch was found.
	... The exception is:SIGSEGV 'segmentation violation' detected. Address 38
Fixed in my branch; crashed only when the cell was completely empty.

Eivind
User avatar
rockn
Veteran
Posts: 1791
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by rockn »

eivindkvedalen wrote:Could you please attach the file? It works for me, btw.
Of course :
SpreadsheetTest.fcstd
(10.17 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
Note that what I describe was on a new non-saving document and the cell get refresh when I have Save the file but still don't update after.
Formations - Assistance - Développement : https://freecad-france.com
jmaustpc
Veteran
Posts: 11207
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by jmaustpc »

rockn wrote:Note that what I describe was on a new non-saving document and the cell get refresh when I have Save the file but still don't update after.
The spreadsheet updates for me with both your file and a new file that has not been named or saved.

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4572 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: be2bb52796ae1be001882da114e8272c4c746af0
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1.oce-0.17-dev
eivindkvedalen
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by eivindkvedalen »

rockn wrote:
eivindkvedalen wrote:Could you please attach the file? It works for me, btw.
Of course :
SpreadsheetTest.fcstd
Note that what I describe was on a new non-saving document and the cell get refresh when I have Save the file but still don't update after.
i'm almost certain that this is related to the fact that you are running FreeCAD with a translation to French enabled. So; how can I do the same? I've tried changing my desktop language to French with no luck. Is there anything special that needs to be done to run freecad with a translation when compiling from sources/running in an IDE?

Eivind
User avatar
rockn
Veteran
Posts: 1791
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by rockn »

OMG, how do you guess that ? :D You are absolutely right ! I have just set FC language to English, restart FC and it update perfectly. :D
eivindkvedalen wrote:Is there anything special that needs to be done to run freecad with a translation when compiling from sources/running in an IDE?
I don't know :( I hope someone knows.
Formations - Assistance - Développement : https://freecad-france.com
CkwA
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:37 pm

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by CkwA »

If it can help, the spreadsheet behaviors change only when FreeCAD is restarted. Eg: If it's working with English language, switch to French doesn't break it. But a restart will.

Edit: After some test and restart, now the spreadsheet updates correctly even in French ...
Edit2:
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4572 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: be2bb52796ae1be001882da114e8272c4c746af0
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
ulrich1a
Veteran
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Some test about new Spreadsheet WB

Post by ulrich1a »

I got another minor issue:
1. Make a new document with a spreadsheet.
2. Add two numbers in two cells.
3. Add a formula with the two numbers in a third cell.
4. Save the spreadsheet.

Issue: the formula result turns into #ERR.
You need to close the document and open it again to see the right result.

Ulrich

OS: Debian GNU/Linux 8.0 (jessie)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4570 (Git)
Branch: remotes/origin/master
Hash: d89d1808b71a6a1eea2e4ef50516b2feedef7135
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17-dev
Post Reply