[Solved] "Spikes" / Glitches in Adaptive Toolpath

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
mr.kenhoff
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:44 pm

[Solved] "Spikes" / Glitches in Adaptive Toolpath

Postby mr.kenhoff » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:39 pm

Hi Freecad Dev's,

the Adaptive Toolpath Operation generates some strange spikes in the toolpath (see attached pictures). They only occur during the transition from a cutting move to a linking move. It seems like the lead-out move is offset by a constant factor in the x-direction.

I found this bug on my Arch-Linux Machine using the latest (0.18.16131) AppImage:

Code: Select all

OS: Arch Linux
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.3)
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
I tried the same on a windows machine and got a completely clean toolpath without any glitches.
I can not tell if this bug is related to the AppImage or if it is a general Linux problem. Would like to hear if someone else has the same bug.

Steps to reproduce:
  • Create new File in Freecad
  • Setup a simple Part (A plain Cube with about 50mm edge length should do the job)
  • Switch to Path Workspace
  • Create a new Path Object. (Select the previously created part and keep all the default settings)
  • Select the top face of your part and create an Adaptive clearing operation (Keep the default settings)
The bug occurs both on all adaptive operations (inside and outside; clearing and profiling).
Attachments
Part.png
Part.png (19.71 KiB) Viewed 154 times
Gcode.png
Gcode.png (19.37 KiB) Viewed 154 times
Detail.png
Detail.png (9.75 KiB) Viewed 154 times
Last edited by Kunda1 on Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [Solved] to thread title
chrisb
Posts: 16935
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: "Spikes" / Glitches in Adaptive Toolpath

Postby chrisb » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:41 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Please retry with current 0.19 and report back. There has something been fixed.
mr.kenhoff
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:44 pm

Re: "Spikes" / Glitches in Adaptive Toolpath

Postby mr.kenhoff » Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:45 pm

Oops, I wasn't aware that I'm not using the latest Version. Thank you for that hint!

The reported bug is fixed in version 0.19. Topic can be closed..