CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
roivai
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:29 pm
Location: Oulu, Finland

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby roivai » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:40 pm

shaise wrote:
Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:41 pm
Hi roivai,

The tools you use are invalid.
Just edit your tools and give the cutting edge height a value other then 0.

shai
Oh - obviously. Now it works beautifully. Thank you so much. This is a great addition to FC Path.
User avatar
shaise
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 am

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby shaise » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:45 pm

Thanks!
schnebeck
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:04 pm

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby schnebeck » Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:55 pm

@shaise:
From me also a big thankyou for this tool. No more need to start camotics and syncing the tool lists.

If you need some ideas how to improve your simulator here a few suggestions: :mrgreen:

- Support for drilling cycle
- A better reaction on key press/mouse clicks events during heavy simulation movements
- View of current X, Y and Z value and current coord-system (G53, G54, ...)
- Toggle path viewing on/off
- Toggle part viewing on/off
- Collision checks if tool works deeper than the step depth
- Collision checks if tool works deeper than the cutting edge height
- Collision checks if tool interacts with other parts (clamping, bolts, etc)
- Smooth movement relative to the current velocity
- Time estimation for process
- Animate CAM process as machine movement using a config file with cad data from the machine
- Support for rotating axis/lathe (Today not supported by Freecad Path/CAM)

I mean, as fast as you wrote this simulation this is only a weekend for you :lol:

Thanks a lot

Thorsten
chrisb
Posts: 25681
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby chrisb » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:33 am

If this is a wish list: The simulator could be combined with the "Inspect GCode" tool and advance as the user selects parts of the gcode.
User avatar
shaise
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 am

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby shaise » Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:29 pm

OK, added everything to the wish list.
Thanks for the vote of confidence but I'm not that good of a programmer... ;)
Anyway, will do best.

shai
User avatar
JoshM
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby JoshM » Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:03 am

Hi Shai,
I hadn't run into this before--hadn't tried Stopping, or Pausing, but tried it today and they weren't responsive for me. Are they in progress, or is it a thread-priority type of thing?
Best,
Josh
User avatar
shaise
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 am

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby shaise » Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:14 am

Hi,

I am using QT timers to do the animations. Maybe for complex simulations the interval is too short. Try reducing accuracy and speed and see if it starts being responsive.

shai
schnebeck
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:04 pm

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby schnebeck » Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:59 pm

Maybe a QThread could help?

Bye

Thorsten
User avatar
JoshM
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby JoshM » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:13 pm

If I slow it to 2G/s it's more responsive--enough to catch it within a second or two. If it's even up at 10G/s, it's non-responsive. The Speed-Bar is a bit more responsive, so at the moment, the workaround is to grab that, move it as far left as possible, then hit pause/stop...

That said, it's so frigging awesome Shai! My boss walked in a minute ago while I was testing it and though he'd seen it before, was again, blown away by what you've done. Good job!

Best,
Josh
User avatar
shaise
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 am

Re: CAM simulation for the Path Workbench

Postby shaise » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:16 pm

Josh,

I'll look around to see if I have a better solution for that.
Did you try the fast-forward button? can you pause in the middle of fast-forward?

shai