Couple of potential bugs...

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
herbk
Posts: 1545
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby herbk » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:14 pm

Hi,
hm, on my installations (OpenSuse and AppImage) i don't get a drilling path at all, no matter what i'm selecting...

AppImage is:

OS: "openSUSE Leap 42.3"
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.12697 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 8bbcfd6dce297917f39452392dc9e5722f95d7cb
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)


OpenSuse:

OS: "openSUSE Leap 42.3"
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.Unknown
Build type: Release
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Gruß Herbert
Joel Stienlet
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:20 pm

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby Joel Stienlet » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:26 pm

Hello Herbert,
Apparently this patch has not been merged in the master yet.
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/commits/master
But you can use the patch https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/1134 to fix these two files.
herbk
Posts: 1545
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby herbk » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:27 pm

Joel Stienlet wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:27 pm

N.B. a reasonable mismatch between tool and theoretical diameter should be allowed I think, as you don't always have the precise tool in the shop. Not everybody has anyway. And sometimes larger is better than smaller (ex: through hole component in a PCB). The best would be to specify tolerances +- while defining the geometry, and then check if the tool matches these tolerances. I don't know if there's something like this, I'm still new at FreeCAD, I haven't tested all the features yet...
hey... we are talking about drilling, - and working with cnc machines...
your suggestion sounds very unproffesionell for me....

In my mind a drilling operation should only work if the selected tool fits with the hole to drill, or, for center drills, with a smaler tool as the hole diameter. ;) ;)
Gruß Herbert
Joel Stienlet
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:20 pm

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby Joel Stienlet » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:36 pm

I mostly agree ;) but sometimes I've to make a hole with not that tight tolerances, or sometimes you want to tap (not a critical thread) and you don't have that specific 7.3mm drill for this M8 thread, and you just drill it 7.5mm... I do that sometimes, but not very professional I agree ;)
GeneFC
Posts: 1025
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby GeneFC » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:33 pm

I think it would be a huge mistake to even consider a tolerance as large as 0.2 mm.

FreeCAD mostly works with floating point, and there are a number of examples on the forum where rounding errors at a very small level can cause problems, some due to FreeCAD code and some due to OCC code. However, the tolerance needed to correct for those problems is measured with a lot more zeros after the decimal (or comma).

Tolerance for shop choices should not be built in to FreeCAD. If that is needed for successful completion of a machining operation then the user should be responsible for creating any custom features or tools.

(I do that sort of custom adjustment frequently. :D )

Gene
User avatar
JoshM
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby JoshM » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:45 pm

When I used Sheetcam with 2d CAD, drilling ops did allow a +/- tolerance--I think it defaulted to about 5-10%, then could be overwritten. I don't see it as particularly helpful, and since Path allows modification of the Tool settings in the Tool-Controller, it's just as easy to fake it out there. Or, you could modify your 3d model to match your available tools, or buy more tools, or use helix ops with smaller tools to achieve your existing model. I don't mean that to be flip, just to point out the various options, as I find I myself sometimes artificially constrain myself, or make my job harder for arbitrary reasons--like filleting to Tool radius when the job could allow larger... etc....

Regards,
Josh
chrisb
Posts: 19055
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby chrisb » Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:07 pm

Back to the original problem, I can confirm the issue.
I tried with an all-in-PDN model as well thus omitting the cumbersome BaseFeature but to no avail. I am not even getting as far as the OP, when I try to edit the drill operation I get only the transform tool, which probably means that it is not properly initialized.
mlampert
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby mlampert » Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:01 pm

Nice try and - you almost got me ;)

The only faces supported by PathUtils.isDrillable are the cylinder face of holes. Selection of the base/bottom face of a hole was never supported.
chrisb
Posts: 19055
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby chrisb » Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:22 pm

mlampert wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:01 pm
Nice try and - you almost got me ;)

The only faces supported by PathUtils.isDrillable are the cylinder face of holes. Selection of the base/bottom face of a hole was never supported.
That's what thought would be the problem in the first place, but I don't know how Joel Stienlet got that far. Please delete the drill operation and try to recreate it. That fails here.

OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.12754 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 1cfae46)
Hash: 1cfae464b4af12c5483c2495fae360bbf3b4c0cd
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
roivai
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:29 pm
Location: Oulu, Finland

Re: Couple of potential bugs...

Postby roivai » Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:31 pm

chrisb wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:22 pm
That's what thought would be the problem in the first place, but I don't know how Joel Stienlet got that far. Please delete the drill operation and try to recreate it. That fails here.

OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.12754 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 1cfae46)
Hash: 1cfae464b4af12c5483c2495fae360bbf3b4c0cd
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Does this build already include mlampert's PR1134? I just built after that PR was merged and I am able to create Drill OP again.. Even though I get some error messages:

Code: Select all

PathOpGui.ERROR: Please select features of a solid
OS: Debian GNU/Linux 8.6 (jessie)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.12756 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 30c1b2a5a17edb55cae049cf84c4ff98209e2d12
Python version: 2.7.9
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)