Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
User avatar
bill
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:25 pm

Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Postby bill » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:24 pm

I have noticed over time, as path has evolved, the default selected Post Processor has flip-flopped around between linuxcnc, grbl, and one other I cant remember.

Does anyone besides me think Post.py should be settable in the following menu selection.

FreeCAD:Preferences:Path:Job Preferences:General/Post Processing Selector
dubstar-04
Posts: 380
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Postby dubstar-04 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:59 pm

bill wrote:
Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:24 pm
I have noticed over time, as path has evolved, the default selected Post Processor has flip-flopped around between linuxcnc, grbl, and one other I cant remember.

Does anyone besides me think Post.py should be settable in the following menu selection.

FreeCAD:Preferences:Path:Job Preferences:General/Post Processing Selector
Makes sense to me!!
User avatar
sliptonic
Posts: 1559
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Postby sliptonic » Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:13 pm

It is now. Click on the post processing tab.

Image
User avatar
bill
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:25 pm

Re: Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Postby bill » Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:54 pm

I see said the blind man!

Scrolled off the bottom, looks like (apparently) nothing is below; unless you have to notice the thin window slider. (boy, you fixed that fast :mrgreen:

Wonder why all that dead-space is in between tabs/labels/sections?

Which leads to another suggestion! "Window-shade" menuing that I think is found in other parts of FreeCAD. (For consistency's sake).
Do you know if window-shade menu option is available in Qt.

Probably of interest for the UI/UX crowd.

Thanks brad!
User avatar
sliptonic
Posts: 1559
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Postby sliptonic » Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:00 pm

I've been bit by this myself. It's an artifact of how QT maximizes the panel. It might make sense for us to reorder the panels so General is last and is the one open by default. Then it looks like the tabs are at the top.

I don't know about the window shading though. I'm pretty crappy when it comes to UI/UX.
User avatar
bill
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:25 pm

Re: Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Postby bill » Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:01 pm

Hey Brad FYI,
Just noticed the other day that the window-shade effect is used in SKETCHER; if you were interested !

The UI/UX folks made a BIG effort on ICONS; it would be nice if they UNIFIED the FreeCAD WB-Desktops styles concering menuing, format, !

But for the complexity of PATH, definetely, shades would help.
WindowShades.gif
WindowShades.gif (70.75 KiB) Viewed 471 times
User avatar
sliptonic
Posts: 1559
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Postby sliptonic » Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:15 pm

Cool. I like it. Such a change won't make it into 0.17, of course but let's look at it going forward.
mlampert
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: Default Path Preference for Post Processing

Postby mlampert » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:22 am

sliptonic wrote:
Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:15 pm
Cool. I like it. Such a change won't make it into 0.17, of course but let's look at it going forward.
You can play around with that (or something like it) if you change the variable TaskPanelLayout in PathOpGui.py:

Code: Select all

# TaskPanelLayout
#  0 ... existing toolbox layout
#  1 ... reverse order
#  2 ... multi panel layout
#  3 ... multi panel layout reverse
TaskPanelLayout = 0