Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Stef1794
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:03 am

Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby Stef1794 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:35 am

Hi guys,

first of all: great work on the Path workbench. I've been watching your progress for a while now and am amazed. Literally only mm's from a perfectly fine CAM-tool! ;)

I tested some features today and ran in some questions/requests:

- Is it intended that the Paths only show up when I hit the "inspect G-code button"?
- Would it be possible to show a "preview" while generating an operation?
- Somehow I can't generate paths with the default tool. The operations show up but I don't see any paths generated. Otherwise if I do the same thing with an tool i created through the tool manager it works.


Further I did some testing with the following part:

Image

As you can see, pocketing works like a charm. But if I want to face-mill my "stock" to this surface:

Image

the path gets generated in the body:

Image
Image

Further I can't really do anything about it, because all values for the calculation are automatically derived from the stock or the tool (here on the left):

Image


This also happens if I'm trying a solid block like here:

Image

so I guess this is not a special case for the part I designed.


A final question: Is there a way I can change the target depth/Step down to my needs or will that always be some kind of derived value?

Keep up the good work, and have a nice one!

- Stef
Last edited by Stef1794 on Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9217
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 12:28 pm

Stef1794 wrote:
Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:35 am
The images in your post weren't embedded :(
Also you didn't write in your Help > About FreeCAD > Copy to clipboard version data.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
chrisb
Posts: 30781
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby chrisb » Sat Jan 20, 2018 1:09 pm

The paths should show up immediately, in fact it is difficult to hide them - you have to make a single path and the job invisible. There is much documentation now, although we are in the middle of creating it, so be generous if the docs are somewhat unordered.
If you dont use version 0.17.13050 or higher please update, try again, and if the problems persist: upload a file showing them.
Last edited by chrisb on Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Stef1794
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:03 am

Re: Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby Stef1794 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:35 pm

Hi Guys,

Sry I messed up the embedding code in the post. And here is the output from the "about"-dialog:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13050 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 305a567819522a336bd16a6c694772be2f56af47
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)


Please let me know if this kind of reports are helpful to you. If so I'll try to test the workbench and it's output (CNC) in kind of regular intervals,...

Cheers

- Stef
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9217
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:57 pm

Stef1794 wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:35 pm
Hi Guys,

Sry I messed up the embedding code in the post. And here is the output from the "about"-dialog:
No problem! ;)
Stef1794 wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:35 pm
Please let me know if this kind of reports are helpful to you. If so I'll try to test the workbench and it's output (CNC) in kind of regular intervals,...
Very helpful. Well done and thanks for updating the thread!
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
mlampert
Posts: 1570
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby mlampert » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:03 pm

Stef1794 wrote:
Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:35 am
Further I can't really do anything about it, because all values for the calculation are automatically derived from the stock or the tool (here on the left):
You can remove the experssions that are attached to the values and replace them with your values. Click on the little blue "f(x)" button ....

Having said that, the behaviour is a bug and FaceMilling calculates the wrong depths - would you mind filing an issue in the bug tracker?
Stef1794
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:03 am

Re: Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby Stef1794 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:51 pm

Hi guys,

I just retested some of the mentioned points with the following version:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13086 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f64760b8a3dabf9d218418f6a3980d900b39d703
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)


- Paths are now shown when I click "Apply" in the Operation dialog --> Awesome!
- Operations with the "default" tool result in visible Paths --> fixed!

I tried to use the simulation-feature but at least on my setup it results in a brown blob:

Image

When I hit "play", I see the tool moving but the stock isn't updated. I kind of remember this feature working properly in the past, can't say for sure and on which platform (ubuntu/windows).

Pocketing still working great (similar part as before):

Image

The Facemilling bug still persists:

Image

Still persists on a simple block aswell:

Image


I want to add a remark on the "default" values or derived values (especially for step-down) like here:

Image

Setting it to the tool-diameter is really restrictive and should be made editable (or am I just missing some option to edit this??) as soon as possible. If you want to set it to a "default" value I would suggest tool-diameter/2 or tool-diameter/3 which are imho good values for wood and aluminium (just my personal experience, I am not a professional machinist).

Have a nice one!

Cheers

- Stef
Stef1794
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:03 am

Re: Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby Stef1794 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:54 pm

mlampert wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:03 pm
Stef1794 wrote:
Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:35 am
Further I can't really do anything about it, because all values for the calculation are automatically derived from the stock or the tool (here on the left):
You can remove the experssions that are attached to the values and replace them with your values. Click on the little blue "f(x)" button ....

Having said that, the behaviour is a bug and FaceMilling calculates the wrong depths - would you mind filing an issue in the bug tracker?
Ok then just disregard what I wrote in the post above, was just typing as you were answering ;) And yes I'll issue a bug tomorrow!

Cheers!

- Stefan
chrisb
Posts: 30781
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bugreport: Face milling and minor bugs, version date: 2018/01/18 14:53:51

Postby chrisb » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:08 pm

Stef1794 wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:51 pm
I tried to use the simulation-feature but at least on my setup it results in a brown blob:

When I hit "play", I see the tool moving but the stock isn't updated. I kind of remember this feature working properly in the past, can't say for sure and on which platform (ubuntu/windows).
It's the tool geometry. Please read my remarks in the walk-through in the documentation.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.