CNC Lathe and 4th-axis milling...

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
JoshM

CNC Lathe and 4th-axis milling...

Post by JoshM »

It's a cleaner copy, and I'll attach as an OpenOffice .odt file in a subsequent Post, as it's easier viewing, and then, I'll add the .FSTD files used for this thought experiment... I'll

Thoughts on 4th-Axis Milling Development:
I started this in a PM with Sliptonic, somehow lost it trying to post it before, and am gonna try to put some notes together here toward future development. This is in response to Brad's post to Realthunder, about lathe and 4th-axis implementation, where he linked to a video. He got me thinking, so don't blame me :lol: ...

I'm gonna try to re-write this as directly as possible. That said, it's not a super simple discussion, so forgive the length.

I'm not an expert in either lathe or 4th-axis milling, but have some direct experience with each on desktop Taig CNC machines, hand-coding Jobs. I've been interested in harnessing the power of FreeCAD Path workbench to bear on these tasks as hand-coding is cumbersome. I hope this can provide a place for others with interest and expertise to chime in so we can develop a vision for the functions.

I am not fluent in Python, but I do program (8051 assembly, PIC C), and one good path to functional code is job definition. My goal is to define some concepts, to make sure we're on the same page, then lay out some ideas, and hopefully get others input and feedback, then Flowchart what 4th-axis and lathe program(s) should do.

To Start: