Creating CNC roughing and finishing passes

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
prius06

Creating CNC roughing and finishing passes

Post by prius06 »

Hi guys,

I am very new to CAD and CAM, so please forgive me if I am asking questions that sound stupid or may have been answered before. I built a CNC machine. Well, I actually bought a frame and connected it to an Arduino Uno flashed with grbl. Now I can finally play with designing small objects and cutting them out of wood or plastic and most recently out of machinable wax...

What I am trying to do next is to create several paths starting with a larger tool for rough shaping and when I get withing a mm or so from the final creation switch to a smaller end mill for a finishing pass that should look similar to this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqAkY9mBA4U

For that purpose I started with a cube and a semi-sphere attached to it and tried the various paths available in the path workbench but they all created lots of passes with fixes Z axis and cutter moving strictly horizontally. I would like the finishing pass move end to end in a zigzag pattern while the Z axis follows the relief (just like in the video above).

Sorry I am not using the right terminology but as I said before, this is all very new to me.

Thanks for developing FreeCAD and hope to join you one day. I am actually a software engineer but my professional work is completely unrelated to CAD and CAM software.
prius06

Re: Creating CNC roughing and finishing passes

Post by prius06 »

I think I almost found what I was looking for...

I enabled path experimental features as described here: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Path_experimental