possibility of better overview of the various operations

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Erich Schulz

possibility of better overview of the various operations

Post by Erich Schulz »

hiya again,

is related to a few of my other posts. I'm hoping that my status as a complete noob stumbling around in the darking and bumping into things is kinda helpful and not too irritating. Freecad is truly awesome so I would like to be helpful.

I'm looking at this wiki page: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Path_Workbench

and also at the tooltips

and I am quite confused as to when I would choose each - I'm pretty sure I get the difference between helix and drilling but as the rest I'm only guessing (and based on efforts to date, guessing poorly!)

Code: Select all

Path-CompleteLoop.png Complete Loop: Completes a loop from two selected edges

Path Contour.png Contour: Creates a path of the contour of the base object

Path-Profile-Face.png Profile from Face: Creates a profiling path from a selected face

Path-Profile-Edges.png Profile from Edges: Creates a profiling path from selected edges

Path Pocket.png Pocket: Creates a pocketing operation from one ore more selected pocket(s)

Path Drilling.png Drilling: Performs a drilling cycle

Path-Engrave.png Engrave: Creates a engraving path

Path-Face.png Mill Face: Creates a surfacing path

Path-Helix.png Helix: Creates a helical path

Path-3DPocket.png 3D Pocket: Creates a path for a 3D pocket
Erich Schulz

Re: possibility of better overview of the various operations

Post by Erich Schulz »

I think the issue is much of the text is a bit circular... eg

deburr: "create a deburr path along edges or around faces"

so "along edges or around faces" is useful, "create a debur path" is a bit redundant

is "create a path directly along an edge or the perimeter of a face" accurate?

actually..