FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
frankbuss
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 8:59 am

FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby frankbuss » Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:36 pm

I tried creating gcode with FreeCAD, but the proprietary program Carbide Motion for my Nomad 883 CNC machine can't read it. Apparently the machine itself runs GBRL, so I guess this should understand the generated gcode, but Carbide Motion is a very basic program and looks like only reads the output of Carbide Create reliably, again a very basic program.

I don't need Carbide Motion, works in Windows only anyway, and I use Linux as my main system. Is there a program for Linux which can send the gcode to my machine, and which allows to manually and interactively move the drill position?
chrisb
Posts: 18029
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby chrisb » Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:43 pm

Can you upload here the GCode for your machine for such an object:
Attachments
Snip macro screenshot-85ab8d.png
Snip macro screenshot-85ab8d.png (4.52 KiB) Viewed 251 times
frankbuss
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 8:59 am

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby frankbuss » Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:08 pm

I don't think I can do this in Carbide Create. But here is an example for 2 paths:
test.png
test.png (205.89 KiB) Viewed 244 times
Here is the Carbide Create source file and the nc-file (with the gcode) it creates for Carbide Motion:
test.zip
(5.78 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
chrisb
Posts: 18029
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby chrisb » Sun Aug 25, 2019 8:44 pm

The G-code contains only G1 commands, no arcs G2 or G3. This would need a very special post processor which does all the tesselation. I wonder if that's still grbl? Perhaps you can upgrade the firmware of your machine?
mlampert
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby mlampert » Sun Aug 25, 2019 8:49 pm

looks like all arcs are discretized, other than that it seems to be straight forward g-code. grbl does process G2 and G3 commands, so this is a bit of a surprise. If there really is a grbl controller at work you should be able to use bCNC. If there is a modified grbl which doesn't support G2 and G3 you might have to write a post processor to discretized them upfront.

Edit: chrisb beat me to it - what he said ;)
WillAdams
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:10 pm

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby WillAdams » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:37 am

This object could be drawn in Carbide Create by Boolean unioning a circle and a suitably sized rectangle:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (168.37 KiB) Viewed 183 times
I would hope that FreeCAD would support making G-Code which Carbide Motion would accept. This post indicates it does: https://forum.shapeoko.com/viewtopic.ph ... 82&p=70299
dubstar-04
Posts: 393
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby dubstar-04 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:22 am

If the machine is grbl based I'm a bit surprised that the grbl post doesnt work. If required I would be willing to help you make a new post for your machine.

If you gather as much information as possible (supported codes etc) we can work together to make FreeCAD output compatible gcode.

Thanks,

Dan
chrisb
Posts: 18029
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby chrisb » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:58 am

I found this page https://mber.dev/rapid-prototyping/cnc- ... 3d-g-codes where G2, G3 are listed.

The following hint may be important: "MeshCam will produce this code only if Enable Arc Fitting is checked. Driver support for the R[radius] arc format is uncertain.".

If it's only the different forms of the circle definitions, then help is not very far, e.g. the philips post processor can create different forms of G2/G3.
frankbuss
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 8:59 am

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby frankbuss » Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:34 pm

Looks like it understands the generated gcode, I could mill now my FreeCAD model with bCNC, all in Linux, thanks! There are still some minor problems with the z-coordinate, I want it to be at the top of my stock, but I can adjust this manually in bCNC.

One major problem: FreeCAD generated the command G20, which sets it to inch. So my 5 mm move in the gcode file, which was generated as FreeCAD would think it was mm, was a 5 inch move, which crashed the head into the top limiter. I changed it to G21 in the file, which sets it mm, and now it works.
chrisb
Posts: 18029
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD and Nomad 883 CNC machine?

Postby chrisb » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:02 pm

Looking at the arguments of grbl post processor by moving the mouse over the "arguments" field, mm should be the default which can be changed to inches. You can try to add G21 to the preamble.