toolmanager bombed out , all tools gone.

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
RatonLaveur
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:45 am

Re: toolmanager bombed out , all tools gone.

Postby RatonLaveur » Sat Oct 19, 2019 10:11 am

I'm still stuck on Qt4 personnaly. Runs flawlessly on my old machine. Qt5 doesn't. Wish there was a Qt4Py3 release. But i don't believe in unicorns.

EDIT: info as per
freman wrote:
Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:45 am
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16093 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 690774c0effe4fd7b8d2b5e2fb2b8c8d145e21ce
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: French/Switzerland (fr_CH)

No graphics card:
2019-10-19_22h18_09.png
2019-10-19_22h18_09.png (8.38 KiB) Viewed 311 times
Only emulation. And I'm stuck at a lower version of OpenGL, which I'm pretty sure is the reason for most of my performance issues with Qt5. Still Qt5 doesn't seem to add all that much (but I'm no expert, so I can only look over the hood) and Qt4 has plenty to offer. Of course the discontinuation of support for Qt4 may be the key (only) driving force behind the switch.
Last edited by RatonLaveur on Sat Oct 19, 2019 8:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
freman
Posts: 746
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: toolmanager bombed out , all tools gone.

Postby freman » Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:45 am

Thanks, could you post your FC info and graphics card type for comparison?

I think Qt4Py3 would be worth pursuing as py2 goes obsolete. It may have the widest support base and seems to be the highest performance option.
hobbes1069
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:49 pm

Re: toolmanager bombed out , all tools gone.

Postby hobbes1069 » Sun Oct 27, 2019 1:41 pm

Just found this thread...

FreeCAD is now built with Qt5/PySide2 on F30 and up. Additionally Coin4 is now used in Rawhide (Future F32). So far the decision has been to not update F30 and 31 because it's a significant update to the Coin3D stack and is discouraged within a release.

I do have versions built with Coin4 in my COPR[1] and as long as you only really use the Coin3D stack for FreeCAD you shouldn't run into any package conflicts but YMMV.

I'm now working on packaging OCCT as OCE has been used but it's getting to old and doesn't seem to be getting any updates since OpenCascade's license change to GPL...

Thanks,
Richard

[1] https://copr.fedorainfracloud.org/coprs ... eCAD_NEXT/
User avatar
freman
Posts: 746
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: toolmanager bombed out , all tools gone.

Postby freman » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:16 pm

Thanks for the system info monsieur le Raton.
No graphics card:
That is the key info I wanted, presumably that means no additional PCI graphics card and using the built-in graphics card on the mobo. The fact that you are on Intel chipset will imply that your GPU is Intel too, not NVidia as mine is.

Fedora gives you the "nouveau" graphics driver as standard and this seems to be heart of constant crashing display issues I've persistently had with all versions of FreeCAD, though I have had zero issues with any other software on this system. It's unclear why FreeCAD is triggering such a mess.

Sadly my GPU is too old to be able to use the proprietory drivers either. So I'm stuck with nouveau or I buy a new computer ( I'm not ready to chuck out this dual core Athlon 3GHz 4GB for one bit of software though ) or install a PCI graphics card with a more recent GPU. This will almost certainly be a powerful device with noisy blowers on it which I definitely to not want. All rather a shame since this h/w is plenty powerful enough to run FC and be quite snappy about it.

The only time it is slow it is a sign that it about fall over. I'd guess it's leaking memory or graphics devices somewhere.
RatonLaveur
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:45 am

Re: toolmanager bombed out , all tools gone.

Postby RatonLaveur » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:40 pm

Same here. And i feel like its too bad that Qt5 takes so much more power for what i feel is no improvement. But maybe I don't have the full picture. I'm also entirely against Windows 10 for the same reasons. W7 is plenty of software for anything anyone needs. But well...if FC will be Qt5, adapt or perish i suppose. It just feels too bad that's the price for the real improvement of Py3. Again.. I may be mistaken due to lack of knowledge.