The Path workbench and related items

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
charles1954
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:10 am

The Path workbench and related items

Postby charles1954 » Mon Nov 18, 2019 9:54 pm

I am getting some strange output in my post processor files and I am having trouble figuring out where its coming from. It is inserting a G0 z44.000, which bangs my z axis against the end of its lead screw. Yes I know I should have limit switches. They are on their way, but china is not just down the block. I have checked the heights in all my operations and none of them is set above 20. If I understood the post I read about the tool library and tool editor, currently Freecad is only using the tool diameter for compensation. None of the other properties have any effect. I had to change my stock so I just edited the drawing to compensate for the thinner stock. What would be the best practices for setting the part origin? I am currently setting it at the left front top vertices of the stock. I will post proc this updated file and start going through the G Code looking for strange z axis movements.
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

Charles
chrisb
Posts: 20746
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: The Path workbench and related items

Postby chrisb » Mon Nov 18, 2019 9:58 pm

Moved to Path forum.

Please attach your file for further inspection.
herbk
Posts: 1663
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: The Path workbench and related items

Postby herbk » Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:34 am

Hi Charles,

additional to your file: wich postprozessor you are using?

But in general: FC "pre sets" the values for clearece and save height. The value for this height's (and how it is calculated) is not comprehensibly for me, so i check it each time and usualy i give it manually a value.
Gruß Herbert