Path::3d-surface tool broken?

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
User avatar
freman
Posts: 951
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Path::3d-surface tool broken?

Postby freman » Fri Dec 06, 2019 7:36 am

Hi,
I wanted to test 3D-surface tool again and I can't even get a path on a rectangular block.

Code: Select all

Surfacing Select Mode
PathOpGui.ERROR: Please select nothing of a solid
Free Select
Surfacing Select Mode
PathOpGui.ERROR: Please select nothing from a single solid
Once the dialogue is open, where ever I float the cursor in the 3D image shows a no entry icon and the status bar shows "not allowed : " followed by whatever feature I'm over.

If I open a previous file where I had a good 3d path:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/~/freecad-master-qt5-build/Mod/Path/PathScripts/PathOp.py", line 204, in onDocumentRestored
    if FeatureBaseGeometry & features and 'App::PropertyLinkSubList' == obj.getTypeIdOfProperty('Base'):
<class 'AttributeError'>: Property container has no property 'Base'
If I open the path dialogue on the existing 3D path , the toolcontroller and coolant lists are blank.

Is this related to the breakage which happened when toolhandler code no longer worked with py2 builds. Last time I used this tool was with the py2/qt4 build of master in the summer, before that breakage.

Thanks.

OS: Fedora 31 (Thirty One) (LXDE/LXDE)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18754 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a5019828cf263ccdec3b6885f845b1ab1c35ac11
Python version: 3.7.5
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)




OS: Fedora 31 (Thirty One) (LXDE/LXDE)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18821 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 379d04166431517f3eef59c5a55b6e2979562722
Python version: 3.7.5
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
chrisb
Posts: 24429
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Path::3d-surface tool broken?

Postby chrisb » Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:32 pm

I can confirm: Creation of 3DSurface does currently not work.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18822 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 0935aa9f5c446ef493e45abb3eba5ffc1af9f57d
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)
User avatar
freman
Posts: 951
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: Path::3d-surface tool broken?

Postby freman » Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:39 pm

Thanks for checking.
Russ4262
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: Path::3d-surface tool broken?

Postby Russ4262 » Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:27 am

I'll see if I can take a look over the coming Christmas break.

I've been working on personal coding for education for my classroom; so, I have not been as active here.

Russell
User avatar
freman
Posts: 951
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: Path::3d-surface tool broken?

Postby freman » Sun Dec 08, 2019 1:53 am

Hi Russ. Nice to see you are still keeping a watchful eye on all this. I suppose the fact that this is still an experimental add-on means that it never even gets tested against other code changes. Seems to be lots of regressions of late. Sorry I did not get further in looking at the cut direction issues, I seem to spend too much time on maintenance to have enough free time to get into anything deep.

Stay cool down there.