Help with pocket operation requested

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
falviani
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 8:49 pm

Help with pocket operation requested

Postby falviani » Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:02 pm

Hello all,

My set up:
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18842 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2fa9369d4203f33c62afddfbe190bb4e089d1840
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

I am trying to create a project to simplify making a replacable wasteboard for a CNC router I have on order from Sienci Labs. I intend to use a grid of threaded inserts. My plan is to rout 1/2" holes in the 3/4" MDF so I can then remove the wasteboard, manually complete the holes (thus not damaging the table surface) and place the inserts from the underside. I have figured out how to use the array to generate the required circles in the sketch and use them to create the pockets.
The attached project file has been edited several times, so it's larger than expected.
Somehow, I can't get the pocket operation working; my understanding is clearly deficient. I would think that using a 1/4" endmill and the path pocket would just plunge the endmill in as required for each selected bottom face (I generally am very conservative in plunge settings). The generated gcode does absolutely nothing. A drilling operation seemed even less useful. Any help in pointing out what I have overlooked would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Frank
Attachments
WasteBoardDrillTemplate_pathTest.txt
gcode, with extension changed so I can attach it
(578 Bytes) Downloaded 5 times
WasteBoardDrillTemplate_pathTest.FCStd
(31.58 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
chrisb
Posts: 21463
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Help with pocket operation requested

Postby chrisb » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:26 pm

The diameter of the pocket is the same as that of your endmill. Currently it is not possible to create a millling path for that. What you seem to want instead is a Path drill operation.
falviani
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: Help with pocket operation requested

Postby falviani » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:31 pm

I tried that with little success, but I'll give it another shot. Probably a wrong setting somewhere.

I can get the path with a smaller endmill, but I'd prefer to do something faster.

Thanks,
Frank
chrisb
Posts: 21463
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Help with pocket operation requested

Postby chrisb » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:44 pm

You can select the bottom of the hole - or even better: the bottom edge - and then create the drill operation.
mlampert
Posts: 1459
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: Help with pocket operation requested

Postby mlampert » Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:12 am

I opened your file, AFAICT there is a single hole, I was looking for the array but couldn't find one.

Anyway, when you create a new Drilling op, navigate to the "Base Geometry" tab and then press the button "Reset". This will find all holes in your model and generate drilling commands for them. I tried that out and the op seems to do the right thing.
chrisb
Posts: 21463
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Help with pocket operation requested

Postby chrisb » Sun Dec 08, 2019 5:59 am

mlampert wrote:
Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:12 am
Anyway, when you create a new Drilling op, navigate to the "Base Geometry" tab and then press the button "Reset". This will find all holes in your model and generate drilling commands for them. I tried that out and the op seems to do the right thing.
Yesterday I searched for this function and couldn't find it. Today I can confirm that it works flawless :D .