cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
lawrencek
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 pm

cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby lawrencek » Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:07 pm

I have this simple test. I've got shapetext (ttf font), converted to sketch mapped to face pocketted all through and it is.
But I cannot create a path operation to make the GCODE for the text. Want to do iit for all the text in one go but I cannot do it at all. Shapetext seems very difficult to use!

What am I doing wrone? Latest 0.18 FreeCad.

Lawrence
Attachments
TEST 200223.FCStd
(257.48 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
chrisb
Posts: 22315
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:14 pm

Retry with latest 0.19. Much has been done in Path WB since 0.18.
lawrencek
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 pm

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby lawrencek » Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:00 am

why does it not work? rather ffundamental!

I cannot find executable install for 0.19, only source. Need 22 bit for windows (7).

can I download an update workbench?

I have spent so long on this!

Thnnks for your help.
chrisb
Posts: 22315
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:08 am

You find executables here: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre . Alas there is no 32 bit variant (I guess you don't really have a 22 bit system). You may consider to install a Linux system in parallel.
lawrencek
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 pm

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby lawrencek » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:14 am

yes it is for 32 bit!!

is there an updated workbench, and is this the problem?

how am I meant to do it?

thanks
chrisb
Posts: 22315
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:18 am

I was too lazy to select all the faces so I didn't create a pocket, but I had no problems creating a profile operation, where I adapted the depths manually:
Snip macro screenshot-d25ee2.png
Snip macro screenshot-d25ee2.png (111.42 KiB) Viewed 244 times
OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19694 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 288456ee4beb9e8dc27d50a7984c40c45467161f
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
chrisb
Posts: 22315
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:24 am

Works in 0.18 as well, here I took the "E". You have to change "FinalDepth" in the DataTab to 0.

"Latest" doesn't say much. Please attach your full FreeCAD info as described in the IMPORTANT forum rules linked above.

OS: macOS 10.13
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16146 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.4)
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Attachments
TEST_200223_cb.FCStd
(263.91 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
lawrencek
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 pm

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby lawrencek » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:22 pm

This is my version:

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)

I opened your file but could not get PATH to generate a PROFILE EDGES at all. Why is it so difficult? Ut does not work.

Frustrated!!!!!
chrisb
Posts: 22315
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:40 pm

That's not a very helpful description if we want to find the issue. Please describe step by step what you have done.
lawrencek
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 pm

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby lawrencek » Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:53 am

This is what I did:

created a body and padded to default thickness
draft: created shapetext using courier bold TTF font
created a sketch from the draft
mapped the sketch to the top face
created pocket for the text all he way through
path: created job, set default tool to small (0.5 MM)
Tried to select the text to create a pocket.

I had the shapetext to sketch as it says to map sketch to face, but the effect is the same otherwise.

It often wants to do an operation on the top face, or will not let me complete the path for the text surface.

How fo I select the text to make a path CNC operation. Do I have to do it for each letter or bit of one? Can I not select the whole of the text in one go?

What did you do?

Thanks
Last edited by lawrencek on Tue Feb 25, 2020 3:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.