cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
chrisb
Posts: 22314
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:32 pm

lawrencek wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:53 am
Tried to select the text to create a pocket.
Where did you select it: in the tree, in 3D view, if the latter what did you select?

Selecting in the tree will not work, for path pocketing; there is as far as I know only one operation which takes a whole ShapeString: Engraving (well and perhaps deburring).

I selected two adjacent edges at the top of the surface and closed the path with the complete-loop-selection icon. Then I created the profile and adapted the depths as described above.
chrisb
Posts: 22314
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:37 pm

I just tried another variant: If you don't select the outline of the characters at the top, but rather at the bottom, you don't even have to adapt the the depths.
lawrencek
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 pm

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby lawrencek » Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:31 am

I did try extruding and then doing a boolean operation; the result looked the same but had the same problem.

I will try the 0.19 64 bit to see if it works, and then try copying the PATH WB to my 18.

Why is it so difficult? and can I process the whole string in one gp?

Your help is much appreciated
lawrencek
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 pm

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby lawrencek » Wed Feb 26, 2020 8:08 am

Thanks for your replies, I did not see them because they are on page 2. I will try them as well and thanks for your help. Is it worh my posting this in a different group in this forum - bugs or features?

Lawrence (again)
chrisb
Posts: 22314
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Wed Feb 26, 2020 8:16 am

I can't see a bug anywhere, but this topic should go to Path forum. I move it there.
lawrencek
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:47 pm

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby lawrencek » Wed Feb 26, 2020 2:05 pm

Thanks again. I looked for the 0.19 freecad in the .7z file. could not find an installer, dif find a freecad.exe. What do I do with that?

This may not be a bug, but it renders this kind of operation unworkable. Its a reasonable required feature.
Does anyone else not do it? is there a new release of the PATH workbench?

Thanks
chrisb
Posts: 22314
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Wed Feb 26, 2020 2:17 pm

The latest Path workbench is in the latest 0.19 version. You need a 7zip/7unzip program to unpack. Then you have the whole version in one directory.
There are many users who are able to create profile operations, so I would by far not call it unusable. It's rather that you seem to not having understood yet how it works.

I'm still waiting for a very detailed description of what you are doing to create the path. It is sufficient to start the description after having created the tool controller. I use this version:

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19694 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 288456ee4beb9e8dc27d50a7984c40c45467161f
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
herbk
Posts: 1731
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby herbk » Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:43 pm

Hi Lawrence,
lawrencek wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:07 pm
What am I doing wrone?
Basic foult is, you don*t use a tool wich fits to the size of your pokets...
Gruß Herbert
chrisb
Posts: 22314
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby chrisb » Wed Feb 26, 2020 6:28 pm

herbk wrote:
Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:43 pm
Basic fault is, you don*t use a tool wich fits to the size of your pokets...
I had suspected this too, but that's not the case here. I could create the profile operation using the provided tool. So it must be something else.
m0n5t3r
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:55 pm

Re: cannot generate operation for simple shapetext

Postby m0n5t3r » Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:08 pm

the tool in the file is 0.1mm, it's small enough to fit the text; the profile works just fine: https://diode.zone/videos/watch/5c02fad ... 8406fb6596

If you want a pocket (as in, want the interior cleared up), you'll need to add some support underneath (say, make the pad 11mm and pocket depth 10mm) - you need the bottom face in order to create a pocket