Request for help - cutting clamp lips

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
falviani
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 8:49 pm

Request for help - cutting clamp lips

Postby falviani » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:30 pm

Hello all

My setup:
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19758 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: c165edd52c7f06ac09f992e5b5bf1d37661a8c0f
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

I have designed a clamp for my CNC I wish to cut out of 3/4" oak, using a single 1/4" flat end mill. My problem is that I can't figure out how to cut the step lips that will mate with a brace to keep the block horizontal when screwed into position. The design looks like this:
clamp_design.png
clamp_design.png (8.52 KiB) Viewed 185 times
I thought that a pocket operation would do what I need, but the simulation does nothing. What do I need for this - I really don't want to use 2 different bits.
Thanks in advance,
Frank
Attachments
CNC Clamp.FCStd
model
(96.75 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
herbk
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: Request for help - cutting clamp lips

Postby herbk » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:05 pm

Hi Frank,

your tool is to big. The Poket OP (other OPs to) works only if the face to mill is in x and y direction bigger as the tool diameter.
Gruß Herbert
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7016
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Request for help - cutting clamp lips

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:10 pm

falviani wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:30 pm
Version: 0.19.19758 (Git)
If you are going to use the development version, especially for Path, please keep it updated with the latest development version. Current is r20286
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
herbk
Posts: 1736
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: Request for help - cutting clamp lips

Postby herbk » Thu Mar 26, 2020 9:00 pm

You can use the Deburr OP for the steps.
CNC Clamp_herbk.jpg
CNC Clamp_herbk.jpg (57.64 KiB) Viewed 167 times
Attachments
CNC Clamp_herbk.FCStd
(96.39 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
Gruß Herbert
User avatar
Russ4262
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: Request for help - cutting clamp lips

Postby Russ4262 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:17 am

Evening, Sir.
falviani wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:30 pm
...What do I need for this - I really don't want to use 2 different bits.
Thanks in advance,
Frank
If you will grab the latest nightly build, I think your needs could be met by the recent upgrade of ProfileEdges to cut open edges. Just select the top edge of the riser for each step, set the final depth, and it should work. You might be able to select the bottom edge and forego setting the final depth.

I'm on a mobile, so I can't test for you tonight.

Cheers,
Russ
falviani
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: Request for help - cutting clamp lips

Postby falviani » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:51 am

Thanks - I'll give that a shot later this afternoon. :D
User avatar
Russ4262
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: Request for help - cutting clamp lips

Postby Russ4262 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:32 pm

Afternoon to you in the Southern Hemisphere.
I ran the ProfileEdges operation on the steps, selecting one bottom edge of the vertical riser at a time (one operation per step). Selecting the bottom edge allows for not setting the final depth, but may not work in all situations. It works. I tried multiple steps combined and errors arose!

The paths are partially hidden by the model geometry, but they are there, hence the second image.

Cheers,
Russ
Attachments
CNC Clamp_A-1.png
CNC Clamp_A-1.png (162.7 KiB) Viewed 49 times
CNC Clamp_A-2.png
CNC Clamp_A-2.png (133.24 KiB) Viewed 49 times