Problems with profil tool / wrong cut side

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
gauna
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:20 pm

Problems with profil tool / wrong cut side

Postby gauna » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:20 am

Hi,

I'm currently suffering problems with generating gcode with the profil tool. In a previous project I was able to cut an edge of a box by using the profil tool and select the both bottom edges. In my current build of Freecad ths is not possible anymore. Cutting path is always created on the wrong side (see screenshot). Changing inside and outside option doesn't matter. Anybody here who can give me an advice to overcome this issue or is there a fork, where it is already fixed?
Screenshot_20200913_111336.png
Screenshot_20200913_111336.png (8.01 KiB) Viewed 250 times
Thanks

OS: Manjaro Linux (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22443 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 3fd492fabe0868928a031507d94ff788a15286b5
Python version: 3.8.5
Qt version: 5.15.0
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Last edited by gauna on Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
herbk
Posts: 1871
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby herbk » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:42 am

Hi,

at the UI for the OP is a option Cut Side...: just select outside at it. :roll:
Gruß Herbert
gauna
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:20 pm

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby gauna » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:08 am

As I already mentioned changing the cutting side does not have any effect.
herbk
Posts: 1871
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby herbk » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:21 am

I tested with

OS: openSUSE Leap 15.1 (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma5)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22262 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f56825c79f11b75648a7a0dcc8a9f52bb4574e61
Python version: 3.8.5
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)


before i wrote the answer...

It works, also if i select not all edges of a contour.
Gruß Herbert
gauna
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:20 pm

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby gauna » Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:01 pm

Hi,

thanks for testing. Could you also try my file please? Maybe it depends on the more complex geometry.
Screenshot_20200913_205322.png
Screenshot_20200913_205322.png (31.37 KiB) Viewed 180 times
I also tried with a single edge. Doesn't work.
Screenshot_20200913_205755.png
Screenshot_20200913_205755.png (24.69 KiB) Viewed 180 times
Attachments
Test2.FCStd
(30.97 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
GeneFC
Posts: 1438
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby GeneFC » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:17 pm

I saw similar strange effects. If I added a small amount of "Extra Offset", 0.1 mm, then the pattern looked more or less correct.

Don't know why.

OS: Windows 7 SP 1 (6.1)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22411 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: d4519d5aec15bc08f029da5ed15410a494b57b2c
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

Gene
chrisb
Posts: 26920
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby chrisb » Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:44 pm

I can confirm the issue here. A full recompute shows errors in the profile operation.
The culprit seems to be FinalDepth. If I set it to 0.001mm The profile switches sides. However, switching between inside and outside still doesn't work, now the path is always outside.

Note: I could without any further implications remove all other tools except T3.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22358 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5cd408687b51008724c9b102a52a7916a9de7c37
Python version: 3.8.5
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
User avatar
Wsk8
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 6:24 pm

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby Wsk8 » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:07 pm

Is this the expected result?
Attachments
fc.png
fc.png (50.91 KiB) Viewed 143 times
gauna
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:20 pm

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby gauna » Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:07 pm

Thanks to all replies. This is the expected result:
Screenshot_20200914_194940.png
Screenshot_20200914_194940.png (39.12 KiB) Viewed 68 times
chrisb wrote:
Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:44 pm
The culprit seems to be FinalDepth. If I set it to 0.001mm The profile switches sides.
This is a good hint! I only played with "Extra offset", which also effects the result, but not in a usable way. Actually I think "Final Depth" is calculated with "OpFinalDepth" which calculates to "-0.00". For me, it seems to be a rounding error somewhere. Using a clear "0" instead of "OpFinalDepth" solves the problem.

Originaly the solid is part of an assembly and therefore not located in z=0. It is moved to z=0 on the bottom side, but due to rounding (or maybe effective resolution) the bottom face is located at "-62nm" (nano!)

As nobody has declared this to a feature, I'm going to open a bug report.

Stefan
gauna
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:20 pm

Re: Problems with profil tool

Postby gauna » Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:22 pm