Path Shape

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
memfis
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:58 pm

Path Shape

Post by memfis »

Suddenly discovered a new one in Path - Supplemental Commands - Path Shape menu.

It made it easy and fast for me to do what I used to do not so easy and fast - sketch engraving. BUT!

1. this menu doesn't want to be based on a sketch link in Path Shape - an empty job is created.
>>> # Gui.Selection.clearSelection()
>>> # Gui.Selection.addSelection('_________________________________','Link008')
>>> ### Begin command Path_Shape
>>> import PathCommands
>>> FreeCAD.activeDocument().addObject('Path::FeatureShape', 'PathShape002')
>>> FreeCAD.activeDocument().PathShape002.Sources = [ ].
>>> App.ActiveDocument.recompute()
>>> ### End command Path_Shape
And the use of link is necessary - because often there is a sketch, but in the work it must be taken on a scale.
2. the created path indicates Z0 (apparently the height of the sketch location) - this is normal, I can fix it in the editor. But there are no transitions between contours. These command blocks are recognizable and there is no Z coordinate in them at all. This is already more difficult to correct.

OS: Arch Linux (GNOME/gnome-xorg)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.25451 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: makepkg
Hash: 36aded08dec508df2bbeb3a7f38edea39727dfda
Python version: 3.8.6
Qt version: 5.15.1
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: Russian/Russia (ru_RU)


Surely some specific file is responsible for this function, which I will be able to correct in ~/ myself and set the behavior of Z[#1] for the working move and Z[#1 + 3] for the idle move.
Attachments
Снимок экрана от 2020-10-30 16-47-18.png
Снимок экрана от 2020-10-30 16-47-18.png (449.56 KiB) Viewed 1225 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53930
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Path Shape

Post by chrisb »

memfis wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 1:55 pm It made it easy and fast for me to do what I used to do not so easy and fast - sketch engraving. BUT!
What's wrong with the engraving operation? I simply select the sketch, create the engraving operation and that's it.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
memfis
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: Path Shape

Post by memfis »

Not like this...

1. There are several contours in the sketch. Once you have finished a single contour, the tool must climb to a safe height. And the program does not do this.
See the screenshot - in the middle you can clearly see that after the commands of the view.
G1 X23 Y33 Z0

should .

G0 Xnew Ynew

without indication of the tool's lifting and lowering.

2. this command does not want to work with the link sketch.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Path Shape

Post by Kunda1 »

memfis wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 1:55 pm Version: 0.19.25451 (Git)
r25451 ?? how can that be?
master is at r22891
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
memfis
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: Path Shape

Post by memfis »

Kunda1 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 7:46 pm
memfis wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 1:55 pm Version: 0.19.25451 (Git)
r25451 ?? how can that be?
master is at r22891

https://github.com/realthunder/FreeCAD/ ... LinkStage3
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Path Shape

Post by Kunda1 »

Ah..ok!
Weird, usually realthunder's branch has 'linkstage3' in the About. It also splits upstream's revisions from his.
Can you reproduce on 0.19 master ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53930
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Path Shape

Post by chrisb »

Kunda1 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 7:53 pm Can you reproduce on 0.19 master ?
It's ok here:
Bildschirmfoto 2020-10-30 um 23.09.20.png
Bildschirmfoto 2020-10-30 um 23.09.20.png (13.71 KiB) Viewed 1114 times
OS: macOS 10.15
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22846 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1f46b72491a0008384a6db4f2615a656249f6f08
Python version: 3.8.6
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
memfis
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: Path Shape

Post by memfis »

Легко. Easy.

OS: Arch Linux (GNOME/gnome-xorg)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22756 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: ce87f586ee36ffe8ebcdcd3947ced4ab389ae795
Python version: 3.8.6
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: Russian/Russia (ru_RU)
Attachments
Снимок экрана от 2020-10-31 09-17-19.png
Снимок экрана от 2020-10-31 09-17-19.png (384.36 KiB) Viewed 1066 times
v.FCStd
(83.95 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53930
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Path Shape

Post by chrisb »

memfis wrote: Sat Oct 31, 2020 6:18 am Легко. Easy.
What are you trying to tell me? Engrave works flawless here.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Path Shape

Post by Kunda1 »

memfis wrote: Sat Oct 31, 2020 6:18 am Version: 0.19.22756 (Git) AppImage
If you plan to give feedback like this please use the most up to date available version of 0.19 (at this time it's r22846). Thanks.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Post Reply