Generating efficient tool paths

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
martinvavra

Generating efficient tool paths

Post by martinvavra »

Hi there, I am quite new to CAM/CAD designs, started couple of days ago, so I might have stupid questions, however I did not find a way to get arround that, so I might need a help with that. Thank you in advance!

I had succesfully design this solid with pockets and generated the toolpath. I think it will work just fine, however I am a little bit confused with what is just a simulation and how the tool will move on the cnc in real world. And I have two questions:

1) The thing is that I have pockets with the same depth. Is there a way how to make a operation of two pockets with the same depth in single operation (two on the odge) and then combine them with another two pockets (two smaller next to them) while moving the tool from lower left pocket (1 - 8cm wide), then to move to next (2 - 4 cm wide but with another depth), then trird with another depth etc while not to return the spindle to the starting point 0,0? I found that best strategy is to create an operation of every single pocket separately in order to stay efficient, but I am wondering if there is some quicker solution..

2) If I have created the pockets separately in good order - from lower left to lower right and then upper right to upper left, can I somehow enable the boolean "mintravel" of all operations "in the group", so it will clear one pocket and move to another while not coming back to start point 0,0?