How would I mill this curved face?

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Beasponge

How would I mill this curved face?

Post by Beasponge »

Hi Everyone.

I have an issue which I am politely requesting help on please but before I continue, excuse my lack of technical knowledge - I am self taught and fairly new to CNC as well as CAD CAM.

I have a 16mm end mill and would like to generate the tool paths to cut the highlighted part of model following its contour. I do understand a ball end mill is probably better suited but for now is it possible to work with a 16mm end mill even just for roughing, assuming 16mm will not work I could use a smaller one.

My attempts at generating the tool paths using pocket, 3d pocket results in a single line for the Z axis to go up and down and thats it. I have no idea what I am doing wrong.

Here are the dimensions for anyone who is interested.

I really hope my post makes sense, I am horrible at trying to explain myself.

Thank you.
jmaustpc
Veteran

Re: How would I mill this curved face?

Post by jmaustpc »

Welcome to FreeCAD.

I don't know about you specific issue however your FreeCAD version is obsolete, it's about 2 years older than the now current 0.19 which has something like 7 thousand commits of code with bug fixes and new features. Path WB has been developed a lot during the 0.19 development cycle.
RatonLaveur

Post by RatonLaveur »

I second the advice above. With the 0.19 version you will have a more complete and more robust set of CAM tools.

Regarding your specific part, it really depends. with work-holding I would hold the part not the way it is shown in your 3D view, but on the side, so that a simple 2D path with and endmill could machine the rounded edges.