Drilling op depth

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
dubstar-04
Posts: 698
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Drilling op depth

Post by dubstar-04 »

It appears that the drilling operation doesn't respect the opstartdepth. Rather the operation starts at the clearance height.

Looks like we are missing a move to the start depth:

Code: Select all

G0 Z35.000000
G90
G1 X0.000000 Y0.000000 Z12.000000 <---- This line is missing
G99
G81 R33.000000 X0.000000 Y0.000000 Z0.000000
G80
G0 Z33.000000
G81 R33.000000 X0.000000 Y0.000000 Z0.000000
G80
G0 Z33.000000
G0 Z35.000000
DrillingDiscussion.png
DrillingDiscussion.png (18.31 KiB) Viewed 2088 times
Thanks,

Dan
Attachments
DrillTest.FCStd
(22.14 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 54302
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Drilling op depth

Post by chrisb »

Confirmed. I also checked the documentation of my mill, and G81 does not contain the initial rapid move. Perhaps this is different for other machines.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
dubstar-04
Posts: 698
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: Drilling op depth

Post by dubstar-04 »

chrisb wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 8:46 am Confirmed. I also checked the documentation of my mill, and G81 does not contain the initial rapid move. Perhaps this is different for other machines.
Thank you for confirming.

Much appreciated.

Dan
User avatar
dubstar-04
Posts: 698
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: Drilling op depth

Post by dubstar-04 »

chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 54302
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Drilling op depth

Post by chrisb »

Thanks, even with color!
BTW: to reference a bug from the forum, it is sufficient to use the bug tag and write the bug number in between.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
dubstar-04
Posts: 698
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: Drilling op depth

Post by dubstar-04 »

What would the desired output be?

1. Rapid to the correct x/y position at clearance height
2. Rapid to the opstartdepth + safe height
3. Move to opstartdepth

for example, where:

Stock top = 30mm
safeHeight = 3mm
clearanceHeight = 5mm
opStartDepth = 12mm
opFinalDepth = 0mm

The output would be:

G0 Z35.000000
G90

G0 X0.000000 Y0.000000 <-- hole location
G0 Z15.000000 <-- opStartDepth + safeHeight
G0 Z12.000000 <-- opStartDepth
G99
G81 R33.000000 X0.000000 Y0.000000 Z0.000000
G80
G0 Z33.000000
G81 R33.000000 X0.000000 Y0.000000 Z0.000000
G80
G0 Z33.000000
G0 Z35.000000


Thanks,

Dan
User avatar
dubstar-04
Posts: 698
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: Drilling op depth

Post by dubstar-04 »

chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 54302
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Drilling op depth

Post by chrisb »

:thumbsup:
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Post Reply