Pocket3D Edge with finer tool?

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
namezero111111

Pocket3D Edge with finer tool?

Post by namezero111111 »

Dear folks,

I am new to the Path workbench for CNC, so this might be an X-Y problem.
I am trying to make a 3D Pocket with a large tool using a pass extension.
Then, I would like to go around the outside and use a finer tool and stepdown.
However, how can I restrict the second operation by the first so I don't "cut air" 99% of the time?

Here is an example:
First operation
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (27.79 KiB) Viewed 1864 times
Second operation:
Capture2.JPG
Capture2.JPG (46.07 KiB) Viewed 1864 times
99% op this operation is unnecessary; I just need one or two spiral passes on the outside.
I found that I can use a boundary dress-up, but I cannot bound by the other operation.
What's the correct way to achieve this?
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Pocket3D Edge with finer tool?

Post by chrisb »

This is currently not possible.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
namezero111111

Post by namezero111111 »

I wonder; can this be hacked with the experimental "3D Surface" to follow a Pocketing Operation?
It appears to give a single pass along the edge:
Capture3.JPG
Capture3.JPG (64.46 KiB) Viewed 1820 times
Following a pocket operation with a rough tool and a finishing 3D Surface - what is the gotcha with this?
jescombe

Post by jescombe »

What I tend to do as a workaround (when making inlays with some fine detail around the edges), is to remove the bulk by pocketing with a larger tool, and follow that with an internal profile pass (or two) with a smaller cutter that gets me right into the tight corners. Have to be mindful of the stock that's left, and perhaps adjust the offset a couple of times to clear it all...
namezero111111

Post by namezero111111 »