POSTPROCESSORS FOR LANGMUIR CROSSFIRE - M3 & FireControl - ATTN sliptonic

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dodadsshop

POSTPROCESSORS FOR LANGMUIR CROSSFIRE - M3 & FireControl - ATTN sliptonic

Post by dodadsshop »

Three FreeCAD postprocessor files are attached with comments for line numbers that were added / changed from FreeCAD's Mach 3 /4 postprocessor:

1. The FreeCAD supplied postprocessor for Mach 3 / 4.
2. Leon Corley's modification of the FreeCAD Mach 3 / 4 to work with Langmuir Crossfire using Mach 3.
3. Lewis Hirschy's modification of Leon's postprocessor to work with Langmuir Crossfire using their newer FireControl system. The code additions were recommended by Langmuir technical support. Their purpose is to support Langmuir's new torch height control (THC) with a Z axis stepper-motor. Lucky for me they were very simple changes as I'm very new to Python programming. I have more explanation from Langmuir if needed.

Two more files attached:

4. Lewis' postprocessor produced gcode output for a very simple FreeCAD model (2" square with a centered 1" hole). Note that the gcode contains scientific notation whereas the raw gcode in FreeCAD does not.
5. The FreeCAD model.

Sliptonic, let me know if you need any additional information.

Thanks so much for the help.
Lewis

PS My new user name is in honor of my three grandsons who love to do projects with me in my shop :D
Attachments
FreeCAD-2 IN SQUARE with 1 IN HOLE.FCStd
(24.24 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
FreeCAD-2 IN SQUARE with 1 IN HOLE - Crossfire with Fire Cont Post.tap.txt
(1.69 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
mach3_mach4_post.py
(16.81 KiB) Downloaded 59 times
crossfireFIRECONTROL_post.py
Lines changed / added: 24 thru 26, 83, 93, 100, 105 thru 113, 198,
(19.15 KiB) Downloaded 78 times
crossfire_post.py