Ramp dressup : 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Post Reply
User avatar
freman
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Ramp dressup : 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'

Post by freman »

Hi,

I just found that I get an error on a ramp dressup if I toggle the active state of the underlying path.
Also if I toggle the dressup itself.

Still the icon grey state getting out of sync with active state which is confusing.

Sorry if this is fixed, my master is a little out of date now.

Code: Select all

    edges = self.wire.Edges
<class 'AttributeError'>: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'
Also some confusion about



OS: Fedora 34 (Thirty Four) (LXQt//usr/share/xsessions/lxqt)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.24847 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 20e756306d9aa624fcbf465f0345d721673ce720
Python version: 3.9.4
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
Jono
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 11:52 am

Re: Ramp dressup : 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'

Post by Jono »

Hi all,

i have the same problem: if i want to change the state of an operation with an Ramp-In dressup i get only error-messages and it is not possible to change this operation to inaktiv state (with other dressups i use, dogbone, tag etc. there is no problem)

HCopy210830-1.png
HCopy210830-1.png (372.42 KiB) Viewed 1080 times

With more operations in a job it is important that you can toggle the state for Gcode generating and the simulator etc.
And i need the Ramp-In often, normaly we do not have milling cutter wich can go into material vertical (steel, alu, bras ...)

Regards, Jono

OS: Windows 7 SP 1 (6.1)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.25566 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 8c361dd3fc83840a911da950a845eb9f9342a0b6
Python version: 3.8.10
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.2
Locale: German
Russ4262
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: Ramp dressup : 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'

Post by Russ4262 »

freman wrote: Thu Aug 26, 2021 7:56 pm ... I just found that I get an error on a ramp dressup if I toggle the active state of the underlying path.
Also if I toggle the dressup itself.
...
Jono wrote: Sat Sep 04, 2021 10:40 am ... i have the same problem: ...

Morning Freman and Jono.
Have it covered.
PR #5009, [Path] Fix for inactive ramp dressup base operation.

@Sliptonic, this PR includes a second commit that is only Black code formatting applied, which makes the PR much larger than required for the simple fix.

Have a great day, Freman and Jono.
Thanks for reporting and making FreeCAD better.

Russell

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.25645 +4 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: fix/clearing_patterns
Hash: e7febe82556f29b1c2584b22fdbc56bd2250ec8b
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
User avatar
freman
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 pm

Re: Ramp dressup : 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'

Post by freman »

On the ball as ever Russ. Many thanks.
Jono
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 11:52 am

Re: Ramp dressup : 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'

Post by Jono »

Hi Russel,

thank you for the fast action.

I follow your link, but i read a lot of things i do not understand. Can you please tell me what i have to do to get the fix installed / running ?

Or is there a link where i can learn how to handle that ?

Best regards, Jono
Russ4262
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:22 pm

Re: Ramp dressup : 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'

Post by Russ4262 »

Jono wrote: Sun Sep 12, 2021 6:33 am ... Can you please tell me what i have to do to get the fix installed / running ? ...
Evening,
I see you are on Windows. That makes it a little easier.

-Download the single PathDressupRampEntry.py file changed in the PR.
-Navigate to your FreeCAD install root directory.
-Navigate to the Mod/Path/PathScripts directory within.
-Locate the original file by the same name, and rename it for safe keeping (like adding "_Original" suffix to file name).
-Copy and paste the updated version downloaded above into the same location.
-Restart FreeCAD and the patch should be active.

Cheers,
Russell
Jono
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 11:52 am

Re: Ramp dressup : 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Edges'

Post by Jono »

Hi Russell,

thank you very much !

Now it works perfekt. (would never had found that path without your help ;--)

Freecad is an amazing projekt made by amazing people !

Regards, Jono
Post Reply