PathScript improvements.

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
onekk
Veteran

PathScript improvements.

Post by onekk »

This post is mainly to open a discussion on how to improve PathScript code.

So like an absolute beginner (I have gave an eye to the code, but I can't guess the exact work) I ask developers to explain some more about, how code is working?

Hoping this will start a constructive discussion that lead to some improvements, on Path in general and a better "Path scriptability".

TIA and Regards.

Carlo D.
GitHub page: https://github.com/onekk/freecad-doc.
- In deep articles on FreeCAD.
- Learning how to model with scripting.
- Various other stuffs.

Blog: https://okkmkblog.wordpress.com/
sliptonic
Veteran

Re: PathScript improvements.

Post by sliptonic »

Just to clarify, 'PathScripts' is a directory where most of the existing python code for the path workbench lives. This topic is about improving the script-ability of the Path workbench as a whole.

There are a couple concepts that it might be worth discussing, like what exactly is meant by "script-ability".

FreeCAD has the ability to run headless in a server environment without loading the GUI at all. When mlampert did the big refactor and cleanup a couple years ago, there was a lot of effort given to separating the path logic from the gui logic so that path functions could be managed in this mode. There were two reasons for doing this:
First, being able to run FreeCAD headless is competitive advantage over closed source alternatives. Using closed source CAM in a custom toolchain is dangerous because the vendor can change terms or code and pull the rug out from under you. Open-source has an advantage here.
Second, besides leading to cleaner and more modular code, it also leads to more 'FreeCADish' code.