PR #4752 Topological Naming

Post here if you have re-based and finalised code to integrate into master, which was discussed, agreed to and tested in other forums. You can also submit your PR directly on github.
user1234
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby user1234 » Fri May 14, 2021 6:03 pm

The views are correct now, thanks for fast fixing.

Today an other small test. I had a run with the TN issue. When i change the sketches, without changing the topology itself, or like Sketch004 (file will be delivered, when upload works), the result is identical, but then i get the TN issue. Just said, that is a long list of chamfers and fillets, but the result is the same but get an error.

version:

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux bullseye/sid (X-Cinnamon/lightdm-xsession)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.24782 (Git)
Build type: Debug
Branch: TopoNaming
Hash: 4d5997663321ffe11f9daa81895beb1df06753c0
Python version: 3.9.2
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.1
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
I want to upload a video and a file, but i can not because of the forum maintenance, see https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 4&start=40. I will upload when it works.

Thanks for working on it!

Greetings
user1234
user1234
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby user1234 » Fri May 14, 2021 6:27 pm

Here the file and video.

Greetings
user1234
Attachments
test26_TN1.FCStd
(287.89 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
TN1_test.webm
(451.3 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
realthunder
Posts: 1982
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby realthunder » Sat May 15, 2021 1:51 pm

user1234 wrote: Fri May 14, 2021 6:03 pm Today an other small test. I had a run with the TN issue. When i change the sketches, without changing the topology itself, or like Sketch004 (file will be delivered, when upload works), the result is identical, but then i get the TN issue. Just said, that is a long list of chamfers and fillets, but the result is the same but get an error.
This PR is not a complete fix for the TopoNaming problem, it is just for building the foundations without actual application. If you'd like to test for the application, please build my branch at https://github.com/realthunder/FreeCAD/ ... SketchPart

This branch has new topo naming in action for both Sketcher and Part workbench, but NOT PartDesign. For a full experience, you can of course check out my release of FreeCAD.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
user1234
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby user1234 » Sat May 15, 2021 2:06 pm

Thanks, my fault! I have overseen this. I will do some testing of this PR, because it need some testing.

Thanks for working on it!

Greetings
user1234
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 10532
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby Kunda1 » Sat May 15, 2021 10:17 pm

Question: Is there any ongoing discussion between the core devs on this PR that's happening via DM or off-forum?
As RT mentioned this is just part one of a series of PRs. And therefore something not easy to review.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
wsteffe
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:17 pm

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby wsteffe » Tue May 18, 2021 5:39 pm

Kunda1 wrote: Sat May 15, 2021 10:17 pm As RT mentioned this is just part one of a series of PRs. And therefore something not easy to review.
In the first post of this thread RT wrote: "The current PR only introduced the framework. No actual modeling code uses the framework yet. So there isn't much you can test."
I think that it would be sufficient to check that all is working without any regression. It shouldn't be that difficult.
user1234
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby user1234 » Thu May 20, 2021 2:31 pm

Hello!
realthunder wrote:
Just saying, that in PartDesign (with Sketch) i have not seen a regression except when i start i get the message:

Code: Select all

Wizard shaft module cannot be loaded
. But the sprocket and gear generator seems to work fine. I do not have tested all functions since i do not need for the parts i do at the moment, but i thinks that is a peek for the stability (which seems to bee good).

Also one time i started the report panel i get:

Code: Select all

16:17:22  Traceback (most recent call last):
16:17:22    File "/home/user/Programs/FreeCAD_TN1/Mod/Tux/PersistentToolbarsGui.py", line 229, in onWorkbenchActivated
16:17:22      def onWorkbenchActivated():
16:17:22  KeyboardInterrupt
. But only one time.

Next time when i have time i test the the Part workbench. When you a hint what i should test more detailed, just say that.


Thanks for the work you have done. I really appreciate that.

Greetings
user1234
user1234
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby user1234 » Thu May 27, 2021 10:38 am

Hello!
An other small regression.

When creating a drawing in the TechDraw workbench, the sections patterns are not created. When reloading the file, the sections patterns are OK.
TN1_before_loading.png
TN1_before_loading.png (156.07 KiB) Viewed 1169 times
TN1_after_loading.png.png
TN1_after_loading.png.png (168.5 KiB) Viewed 1169 times
test27_TN1_1.FCStd
(79.45 KiB) Downloaded 24 times

Greetings
user1234
chrisb
Posts: 35280
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby chrisb » Thu May 27, 2021 4:33 pm

I think this has already been mentioned in the TechDraw forum.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
user1234
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: PR #4752 Topological Naming

Postby user1234 » Wed Jun 02, 2021 11:56 am

Hello!
chrisb wrote: Thu May 27, 2021 4:33 pmI think this has already been mentioned in the TechDraw forum.
True, must be a pretty new bug.

Just saying that that i used this branch for a while (PartDesign, Sketcher, TechDraw, not Part (too clumsy)) and have not met a other issue that is not in the master. Also the files seems that they are compatible with the master (i did not expect that).

Just asking: is the PR still relevant? yes / no / maybe

Greetings
user1234