Topology optimization

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

fandaL
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Topology optimization

Postby fandaL » Fri Dec 13, 2019 3:03 pm

Bercebus wrote:
Thu Dec 12, 2019 7:50 pm
Is it possible to convert the optimized FEM mesh into a solid infill? I can only get a hollow mesh after exporting it as a .stl and then importing it into the PART module.
You can select the mesh and use command from Part workbench: Part → Create shape from mesh…

It works on geometric meshes (e.g. as you import from stl). FreeCAD can convert also FEM meshes but they need to be first converted to geometric mesh in the FEM workbench: Mesh → FEM mesh to mesh

You can get easily to difficulties with working with geometry converted from mesh due to many faces. It can be partially useful to refine at least flat faces of new geometry (Part → Refine shape), but in case of topologically optimizer results there are often not much of them.
Imported mesh also often contains errors which (if not much serious) can be repaired in the Mesh module: Meshes → Analyze → Evaluate and repair mesh…
Bercebus
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:23 am

Re: Topology optimization

Postby Bercebus » Fri Dec 13, 2019 8:26 pm

Thank you very much, fandaL

Is it possible to use these macros on Linux or do they need some code adaptations?

Best regards
Last edited by Bercebus on Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fandaL
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Topology optimization

Postby fandaL » Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:20 pm

It is written in python and uses libraries which are available in FreeCAD, CalculiX path is taken from path defined in FreeCAD FEM settings so it should work on both Linux and Windows fluently. I did not try it on MAC. You need FreeCAD 0.18 or 0.19.
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1987
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Topology optimization

Postby Jee-Bee » Mon Dec 16, 2019 8:30 am

fandaL wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:20 pm
I did not try it on MAC. You need FreeCAD 0.18 or 0.19.
I tried it on i think 0.18 on osx some time back but not recently