Automation in Design

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

cnirbhay

Automation in Design

Post by cnirbhay »

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6704 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: 0c449d7e8f9b2b1fb93e3f8d1865e2f59d7ed253
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

Till now, I've been able to analyze my Structural models in FreeCAD and I've found the results really impressive. As I'm a structural engineering student and my requirement is to save my time from creating manual reinforcement & manual rebar drawings. So, I've an idea/question for the developers on this forum that can they build a program on FreeCAD that can create automatic reinforcement in the structural members of the building after analyzing the building with loads applied. Also, if it can create automatic rebar shop drawings of different views with automated annotations and dimensioning.

This process in result can save a lot of manual time.

Something related to this I've done with some other software but not exactly accurate. Link below directs to the post on my blog.
(https://cnirbhay.wordpress.com/2016/08/ ... in-design/)

Thank you.

Regards
Nirbhay Chauhan
(https://cnirbhay.wordpress.com/)
yorik
Founder

Re: Automation in Design

Post by yorik »

That would of course be marvelous, but it's a huge and complex work... But one day hopefully, we'll get there!
bernd
Veteran

Post by bernd »

Hi cnirbhay,
great to see more structural engineers around. I have been the only one so far ...

Yeah that would be great, but even the big ones with millions of dollars have been trying to do this without success ...