add new function to fem module

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

till this point i understand it all ready...
what i mean

first fetch the data from the upstream
second rebase -something?

(against method for merge:
first fetch the data from the upstream
second merge
)
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by bernd »

in my personal git repo the official FreeCAD github remote branch is called sfmaster. What I do is:

Code: Select all

git checkout -b mynewfeaturebranch
# do some developing and commit them, by the time official master has lots of new commits

git checkout mynewfeaturebranch
git status # to check if the mynewfeaturebranch is the active one

# fetch official FreeCAD from github
git fetch sfmaster

# rebase the commits from mynewfeaturebranch on top of official FreeCAD
git rebase sfmaster/master

# push everythin to github
# git push addresstomygithub mynewfeaturebranch
open a browse and check on github
go to FreeCAD forum and show my development to other people
User avatar
makkemal
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:41 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by makkemal »

@Jee-Bee git is hard to learn until some showed me GitExtension

https://sourceforge.net/projects/gitextensions/

Just make sure you run the correct mono and things get easier
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

I had used git before but just me... far more easy!!

i screwed up... don't know yet what, but i have to repear copie and redo in new branch...
This branch is 216 commits ahead, 243 commits behind FreeCAD:master.
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

i don't get it build jet... a pity
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by bernd »

build for me on debian jessie
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by bernd »

I would call the property EigenmodeNumbers instead of NumberEigenmodes because in the property editor the properties are sorted by abc.
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

bernd wrote:in my personal git repo the official FreeCAD github remote branch is called sfmaster. What I do is:

Code: Select all

git checkout -b mynewfeaturebranch
# do some developing and commit them, by the time official master has lots of new commits

git checkout mynewfeaturebranch
git status # to check if the mynewfeaturebranch is the active one

# fetch official FreeCAD from github
git fetch sfmaster

# rebase the commits from mynewfeaturebranch on top of official FreeCAD
git rebase sfmaster/master

# push everythin to github
# git push addresstomygithub mynewfeaturebranch
not a clue what i do different...
first i had to create an upstream otherwise i can't fetch from FreeCAD git

Code: Select all

jee-bee@Picasso:~/FCdev/FreeCAD$ git remote -v
origin	https://github.com/Jee-Bee/FreeCAD (fetch)
origin	https://github.com/Jee-Bee/FreeCAD (push)
upstream	https://github.com/Freecad/FreeCAD.git (fetch)
upstream	https://github.com/Freecad/FreeCAD.git (push)
than i need to commit my work otherwise it wouldn't rebase. After that i get another message i don't know what to do with

Code: Select all

jee-bee@Picasso:~/FCdev/FreeCAD$ git fetch upstream
jee-bee@Picasso:~/FCdev/FreeCAD$ git rebase
First, rewinding head to replay your work on top of it...
Fast-forwarded buckle to refs/remotes/origin/buckle.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by bernd »

since you have just a few commits, you can do it without rebase too ...

Code: Select all

# fetch official FreeCAD from github
git fetch upstream

# checkout official FreeCAD
git checkout upstream/master
git status  # to check on which branch you are, you are on no branch, you are in detached HEAD mode
git log -1 --oneline  # last commit hash of FreeCAD upstream master

# checkout the new bucklebranch
git checkout -b bucklebranch

git status  # to check on which branch you are
git log -1 --oneline  # last commit hash should be the same as upstream master

# do some developing and commit them
# or cherry-pick the buckle commits
git cherry-pick 942384a  # your buckle commit on github

# push everything to github
# git  push https://github.com/Jee-Bee/FreeCAD  bucklebranch
to update the bucklebranch, when upstream has new commits

Code: Select all

# fetch official FreeCAD from github
git fetch upstream

# checkout the  bucklebranch
git checkout bucklebranch

git status  # to check on which branch you are
git log -1 --oneline  # last commit off buckle branch

# rebasing, put all your buckle commits on HEAD of upstream/master
git rebase upstream/master
hope that helps
Post Reply