OOFem

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: OOFem

Post by HarryvL »

Yes. That should not be too challenging. I can do that, but don’t hold your breath :D
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: OOFem

Post by HarryvL »

By the way, how do I update my “assess” repo to be in line with yours?
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: OOFem

Post by bernd »

Code: Select all

git remote add bernd https://github.com/berndhahnebach/FreeCAD_bhb
git fetch bernd
git checkout remotes/bernd/femoofem
git checkout -b assess2
and continue there might be easierer.

I did not test the commands ...
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: OOFem

Post by Kunda1 »

HarryvL wrote: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:19 pm By the way, how do I update my “assess” repo to be in line with yours?
I think he's asking about git rebase .. ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: OOFem

Post by bernd »

Kunda1 wrote: Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:34 pm
HarryvL wrote: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:19 pm By the way, how do I update my “assess” repo to be in line with yours?
I think he's asking about git rebase .. ?
git rebase will not work, because I rewrote his history. If he would like to preserve his history, it gets a bit difficault, because he needs to rebase it on master first which will not work because it is missing my rebase conflict commits. For a PR to master we even need to rewrite the history ...
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: OOFem

Post by bernd »

I did some work on my oofem branch. I rewrote history and did some small cleaning. https://github.com/berndhahnebach/FreeC ... s/femoofem ahh and I rewrote the commit history for a better understanding.

pep8 code style with flake8 would be cool here to harry ...
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: OOFem

Post by HarryvL »

Thanks Bernd. Yes, now I know what it is and how to check it I will do so :D. I am now working on the elastic face springs we discussed elsewhere. This OOFEM stuff is on the “back burner”.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: OOFem

Post by bernd »

played a bit with oofem branch ... fixed some minor problems and made pep8 (flake8) code formating. You can not see it on github, I just rebased it inside your commits to get a clean history.

harry have you made a oofem inputfile for the 8 m calculix cantilever? Or do you have some other very simple OOFEM input file to test with?
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: OOFem

Post by bernd »

harry, I am able to run oofem from inside FreeCAD :D

Found a simple input file ... http://www.oofem.org/resources/doc/oofe ... ode61.html

Code: Select all

2DPlaneStress.out
Patch test of PlaneStress2d elements -> pure compression
LinearStatic nsteps 1
domain 2dPlaneStress
OutputManager tstep_all dofman_all element_all
ndofman 8 nelem 5 ncrosssect 1 nmat 1 nbc 3 nic 0 nltf 1 nset 3
node 1 coords 3  0.0   0.0   0.0
node 2 coords 3  0.0   4.0   0.0
node 3 coords 3  2.0   2.0   0.0
node 4 coords 3  3.0   1.0   0.0
node 5 coords 3  8.0   0.8   0.0
node 6 coords 3  7.0   3.0   0.0
node 7 coords 3  9.0   0.0   0.0
node 8 coords 3  9.0   4.0   0.0
PlaneStress2d 1 nodes 4 1 4 3 2  NIP 1
PlaneStress2d 2 nodes 4 1 7 5 4  NIP 1
PlaneStress2d 3 nodes 4 4 5 6 3  NIP 1
PlaneStress2d 4 nodes 4 3 6 8 2  NIP 1
PlaneStress2d 5 nodes 4 5 7 8 6  NIP 1
Set 1 elementranges {(1 5)}
Set 2 nodes 2 1 2
Set 3 nodes 2 7 8
SimpleCS 1 thick 1.0 width 1.0 material 1 set 1
IsoLE 1 d 0. E 15.0 n 0.25 talpha 1.0
BoundaryCondition 1 loadTimeFunction 1 dofs 2 1 2 values 1 0.0 set 2
BoundaryCondition 2 loadTimeFunction 1 dofs 1 2 values 1 0.0 set 3
NodalLoad 3 loadTimeFunction 1 dofs 2 1 2 components 2 2.5 0.0 set 3
ConstantFunction 1 f(t) 1.0
save it to 2DPlaneStress.in and run it with

Code: Select all

oofem -i 2DPlaneStress.in
I tried to get vtu output, which should be done with

Code: Select all

vtkxml tstep_all domain_all  primvars 1 1 vars 5 1 2 4 5 27 stype 2
This is copied from an example where vtu output works (but the example is huge and takes more than half anhour to run). but no matter where to i put this or what do I change in the line, I get an error. Where you able to get vtu output? Do you know how to get vtu for the example posted above?

cheers bernd
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: OOFem

Post by HarryvL »

Yes multiple VTU (movie) worked first time around. I need to look at my old files to see how I did it.
Post Reply