FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

cti2019
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby cti2019 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:31 am

;)
Attachments
prova1.FCStd
(361.69 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby bernd » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:38 am

But to be honest, I would not analyse such an structure with volume elements. This is far much to difficault. For such an structure a simpler abstruction should be used. 2D (or even 1D) elments would perfectly do the job for this structure.

bernd
cti2019
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby cti2019 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:43 am

what do you mean?
I don't know the fem analysis well..
cti2019
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby cti2019 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:45 am

the problem is that this structure does not bear the load.
My task is to evaluate if 50x5 square tubulars can solve the problem or if you need something else.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby bernd » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:47 am

cti2019 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:43 am
what do you mean?
I don't know the fem analysis well..
You should lern how to do a FEM analysis first before you gone try to start with a complicated geometry.


As recomended
bernd wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:48 am
I would recomend to play with 3D FEM example and 2D FEM example from StartWB for half an hour to understand the difference ...
And even try to calculate the result with pen and paper ( takes less than a minute for the cantilever example ... )
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby bernd » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:54 am

cti2019 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:45 am
the problem is that this structure does not bear the load.
My task is to evaluate if 50x5 square tubulars can solve the problem or if you need something else.
Than I would make simpler modell. Delete anything you do not need. Close the holes if they do not have an impact on your analysis etc.
cti2019
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby cti2019 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:02 pm

ok, I try to eliminate everything that is not needed for analysis and I close all the holes.
But the problem remains that for the analysis this structure has no volume.
Can there be an import problem with step files?
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby bernd » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:21 pm

cti2019 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:02 pm
But the problem remains that for the analysis this structure has no volume.
Can there be an import problem with step files?
No, the geometry has some problems and thus the mesher breaks during volume meshing. On this complex geometry it is difficault to say where exact the problem is. One needs to see the mesher log. How long have you been waiting, for meshing, an hour?

As stated this is a very very very complex geometry for an analysis with volume elements.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby bernd » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:22 pm

cti2019 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:02 pm
ok, I try to eliminate everything that is not needed for analysis and I close all the holes.
good idea!
cti2019
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: FEM MESH HAS NO VOLUME ELEMENTS

Postby cti2019 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:40 pm

in fact, the meshing phase lasted less than 30 minutes and did not give me any errors.
I will try however to simplify the structure to try to make the analysis work.
But I have a doubt: when I import a file step the software sees a solid or only sees the surfaces that compose it?