Thermal Analysis Of a Fluid

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

tthomas20

Thermal Analysis Of a Fluid

Postby tthomas20 » Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:48 pm

Hi All,

I am very new to FreeCAD and even newer to python. I have been trying to learn the FEM workbench, mostly for the thermal analysis. I can get it to work with relatively simple, solid objects no problem. However, I have been trying to simulate the expansion of air inside of a container such as a window (where I am having the most trouble). I keep getting a long list of errors after I run CalculiX and I have no idea what to do with them. I have searched google, the forums, uninstalled and reinstalled FC, and nothing seems to really address my problem.

After meshing I get this message but the mesh appears

Code: Select all

Warning : Unknown element type for UNV export (MSH type 15) - output file might be invalid
Warning : Unknown element type for UNV export (MSH type 15) - output file might be invalid
And after I run CalculiX I get this message but no result mesh

Active Task Dialog found! Please close this one before opening  a new one!
FEM preferences working dir setting is empty, the solver working directory is used.
All working Dir settings are empty: ''.
Working directory: '' doesn't exist.
Dir 'C:\Users\tthomas\AppData\Local\Temp' will be used instead.
FemToolsCCx.setup_working_dir()  -->  self.working_dir = C:\Users\tthomas\AppData\Local\Temp
SolidMaterial has Solid reference shapes.
SolidMaterial001 has Solid reference shapes.
FluidMaterial has Solid reference shapes.
FemConstraintFixed has Face reference shapes.
FemConstraintHeatflux has Face reference shapes.
FemConstraintInitialTemperature has empty References.
card_path: 
Previously used material card cannot be found in material directories. Add document material.
False
FEM preferences working dir setting is empty, the solver working directory is used.
All working Dir settings are empty: ''.