hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by johnwang »

Hi,

Here is my wb which uses Frame3DD to design a frame. Not all working yet. You must put Frame3DD.exe inside YouFreeCAD/bin folder under Window 10.

It opens a Frame3DD case file (*.3DD) and copys it into YouFreeCAD/bin folder. Then you can run Frame3DD.exe to solve it. Result can be viewed.

You could download the wb from https://github.com/ceanwang/hFrame3DDfc. Extract under YouFreeCAD/Mod/hFrame3DDfc folder.
Get Frame3DD from http://frame3dd.sourceforge.net/

Regards,

John
e1.jpg
e1.jpg (85.59 KiB) Viewed 2409 times
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by Kunda1 »

Nice! Do you have a roadmap of different features you're planning to integrate? One of them being referencing Frame3DD instead of the need to manually adding the executable to the FC directory, please.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by johnwang »

Kunda1 wrote: Thu Apr 09, 2020 1:44 pm Nice! Do you have a roadmap of different features you're planning to integrate? One of them being referencing Frame3DD instead of the need to manually adding the executable to the FC directory, please.
Here is my code to run Frame3DD.exe

Code: Select all

process=subprocess.Popen(["frame3dd","hFrame3DDfc.3DD","hFrame3DDfc.out"],stdout=subprocess.PIPE,stderr=subprocess.PIPE,encoding="utf8")
		out,err=process.communicate()
If frame3dd.exe is on the search path under Windows 10, no need to copy into YourFreeCad/Bin folder. but case file hFrame3DDfc.3DD and result file hFrame3DDfc.out must sit in the same folder as frame3dd.exe.

I'll setup a case folder, open case file from that folder and output result file into that folder.
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
thschrader
Veteran
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by thschrader »

Very cool!
Implementing graphic plot in Fc seems hard... (example from my commercial 3D-program)
John, keep up the spirit :)

my system:
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20477 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7d8ab175a68e476427e6e337fe3099b52da49dc8
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
frame3D_tower_example.JPG
frame3D_tower_example.JPG (85.78 KiB) Viewed 2258 times
bending_moment.JPG
bending_moment.JPG (33.71 KiB) Viewed 2258 times
thschrader
Veteran
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by thschrader »

ok, I got it, sorry...
result.JPG
result.JPG (106.33 KiB) Viewed 2255 times
thschrader
Veteran
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by thschrader »

pay attention when reading test files from frame3DD ==> unit conversion from inch to mm

my_preferences.JPG
my_preferences.JPG (23.02 KiB) Viewed 2245 times
unit_conversion_in_to_mm.JPG
unit_conversion_in_to_mm.JPG (110 KiB) Viewed 2245 times
User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by johnwang »

thschrader wrote: Sat Apr 11, 2020 10:16 am ok, I got it, sorry...
My exA example shows point load.
Your exG example shows distribution load.

Frame3dd doesn't output bending moment. If it can be derived, I could draw it along the member.
Last edited by johnwang on Sat Apr 11, 2020 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by johnwang »

thschrader wrote: Sat Apr 11, 2020 10:46 am pay attention when reading test files from frame3DD ==> unit conversion from inch to mm
There is one line factor=25.4
But now set at factor=1.

I need to check that. I was focus on the display before.
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
thschrader
Veteran
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by thschrader »

Modified the tower-file to Newton/mm scale, using a bigger system and tubes 88,9x6,3 mm as profiles.
Only nodal-load 3 kN at the top. Double-check with my commercial software gives nearly 100% accordance
for forces, moments, deflection.
@john: you can subdivide the beam to get maxM under distributed loading
(rename txt-extension to 3DD)
triangletower.txt
(5.23 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
tower.FCStd
(55.03 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
triangle_tower_result.JPG
triangle_tower_result.JPG (104.5 KiB) Viewed 2201 times
User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: hFrame3DDfc - Frame design with Frame3DD in FC

Post by johnwang »

thschrader wrote: Sat Apr 11, 2020 2:26 pm Modified the tower-file to Newton/mm scale, using a bigger system and tubes 88,9x6,3 mm as profiles.
Only nodal-load 3 kN at the top. Double-check with my commercial software gives nearly 100% accordance
for forces, moments, deflection.
@john: you can subdivide the beam to get maxM under distributed loading
(rename txt-extension to 3DD)
HI thschrader,

In your drawing, some elements are colored in Red and some in Blue. What it means? Element in Compression or in Tensil ?

I found out Frame3DD could output another file for frame element bending moments about the local -y-axis and z-axis.

I'll try to read that data and draw on the element.

Regards,

John
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
Post Reply